Inventor General

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-20-2012
Message 11 of 16 (145 Views)

Re: Assemble - grip snap

11-20-2012 03:42 PM in reply to: cheree.lee

As I said, this is a collection of previously used part being put to a new task.  The come from some files that were metric and others that were english, different designers, different eras, and suppliers who are notorious for goofy dimensioning.

Stir in my newness to Inventor and frustration prevails.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,276
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 12 of 16 (143 Views)

Re: Assemble - grip snap

11-20-2012 03:45 PM in reply to: cheree.lee

cheree.lee wrote:

Stir in my newness to Inventor and frustration prevails.



This is typical for what I see all the time.  If you let it frustrate you - you will soon not have any hair and/or a hole in the wall from beating your head...  :smileytongue:

 

At least the sketches are dimensioned/constrained with some logical order of creation - so it is easy to track down the problem.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-20-2012
Message 13 of 16 (136 Views)

Re: Assemble - grip snap

11-20-2012 03:52 PM in reply to: JDMather

Back to my one question............was I correct in thinking that the same steps that sudccessfully got the first bolt in place and constrained should have worked for all of them?  If the bolt patterns was the same.

 

Also, most of the parts I simply pulled in from the other sources.  I didn't  clean them up, or do anything more than take a first wack at duplicating the old existing drawings.  I am thinking I should do that now before I go too much farther.   Your thoughts? 

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,276
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 14 of 16 (133 Views)

Re: Assemble - grip snap

11-20-2012 03:56 PM in reply to: cheree.lee

Same technique should work for all of them.

 

I think you will find that most people don't trust Acad work once they start using Inventor, especially if the work was done by someone else.  At least with Inventor you have a history tree you can check to see how something was done and where they went wrong.  Without a history I always feel like I need to start over from scratch because I can't trust anything someone else did if I find one thing wrong.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-20-2012
Message 15 of 16 (128 Views)

Re: Assemble - grip snap

11-20-2012 04:03 PM in reply to: JDMather

I was beginning to feel that way on a lot of the work I've been doing in Inventor.  I've already given up trying to bring really old AutoCAD files in.  

 

Part of me wanted to believe that I could just pull them in an go merrily down the path.  The I stared running into things like dimension over rides.  

 

Thanks for your help.  I'm going to spend some time cleaning up the mess, and then working with getting the patterns corrected. 

 

If I run into trouble I'll be back in the forum.

 

One last question though, if my holes have chamfers and lead chamfers does that mess with the bolt connections?  should I be picking the edge of the chamfer or the edge of the hole itself?

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,276
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 16 of 16 (126 Views)

Re: Assemble - grip snap

11-20-2012 04:08 PM in reply to: cheree.lee

cheree.lee wrote:

 

One last question though, if my holes have chamfers and lead chamfers does that mess with the bolt connections?  should I be picking the edge of the chamfer or the edge of the hole itself?



No problem with chamfers.

Select the clamping face circle. (which I assume would be your chamfer edge rather than hole edge)

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube