Inventor General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
nrg_drink
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-21-2005
Message 1 of 19 (1,084 Views)

Animating Positional representations in Studio

1084 Views, 18 Replies
08-03-2010 02:15 AM

I'm using 2011 pro.  When I try to animate a positional rep in inventor studio, it complains that I don't have excel installed. (see attached image) although I do have it installed.  I've put the hotfix on for excel, with no effect.  I've repaired inventor and repaired excel no fix though.

 

Does anyone have any ideas ?

Distinguished Contributor
nrg_drink
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-21-2005
Message 2 of 19 (1,044 Views)

Re: Animating Positional representations in Studio

08-09-2010 03:39 AM in reply to: nrg_drink

I thought I would try and bump this up, I really need an answer, I hope someone can help

Employee
bill.bogan
Posts: 211
Registered: ‎03-13-2006
Message 3 of 19 (1,035 Views)

Re: Animating Positional representations in Studio

08-09-2010 07:39 AM in reply to: nrg_drink

We should probably start with basic information.

Inventor version? Default install path or other?

Excel version?

Machine info?

 

Thanks,

Bill



Bill Bogan
Principal Content Developer
Design, Lifecycle, and Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
nrg_drink
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-21-2005
Message 4 of 19 (1,016 Views)

Re: Animating Positional representations in Studio

08-10-2010 01:56 AM in reply to: nrg_drink

Sorry,

 

I'm using Inventor Pro 2011 (64 bit)

Windows 7

Excel 2007

Dell M6500 12gb Ram

 

There are other people in the office using exactly the same spec, and they have the same problems

Distinguished Contributor
nrg_drink
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-21-2005
Message 5 of 19 (1,015 Views)

Re: Animating Positional representations in Studio

08-10-2010 01:57 AM in reply to: nrg_drink

and everything is installed to the default paths, both excel and inventor

Employee
bill.bogan
Posts: 211
Registered: ‎03-13-2006
Message 6 of 19 (995 Views)

Re: Animating Positional representations in Studio

08-10-2010 08:28 AM in reply to: nrg_drink

Great. thanks! We'll see what we can discern at this point. I or another person will be back with more information as soon as I/we have it.



Bill Bogan
Principal Content Developer
Design, Lifecycle, and Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.
Employee
bill.bogan
Posts: 211
Registered: ‎03-13-2006
Message 7 of 19 (965 Views)

Re: Animating Positional representations in Studio

08-11-2010 10:29 AM in reply to: bill.bogan

Try this post: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/linking-an-excel-file-using-inventor-2010-and-window...

 

 

Saving you time...

 

Re: linking an excel file using inventor 2010 and windows 7

 

05-06-2010 12:40 PM in reply to: pmoske

Is this a 64-bit system? These solutions are only for 64-bit Windows 7. 
Did you try running the script again to remove the entries, then again 
to add them? (Soren Skjoldborg tried that back in November and it helped.)

Microsoft acknowledged the problem is with the interaction between 
Windows 7, its default entries for things like searching, and Office. 
You can see that even things like WordPad exhibit the same bad behavior 
by trying to link a spreadsheet to a document in WordPad (it embeds it 
instead of linking to it). I don't know what the status is for a fix 
from them.

One other approach you might want to try is to rename the key yourself 
(I recommend renaming so you can restore it if things don't work). Use 
Registry Editor and find 
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\CLSID\{00020820-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}. 
Rename that key to something else, perhaps by prepending "zzz" 
("zzz{00020820-..."). By doing that, it forces Windows to use the 32-bit 
entries, and that should work.

You can confirm this by trying to link a spreadsheet into a WordPad 
document---when things are broken, it will only embed (you'll see a 
spreadsheet icon), but when things are working, it will be linked 
(you'll see the spreadsheet entries). 



Bill Bogan
Principal Content Developer
Design, Lifecycle, and Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.
Distinguished Contributor
nrg_drink
Posts: 176
Registered: ‎01-21-2005
Message 8 of 19 (926 Views)

Re: Animating Positional representations in Studio

08-16-2010 03:11 AM in reply to: bill.bogan

It's not that, I can quite happily link excel tables into IParts etc (although the hotfix was required) It's just animating the postional representations that cause a problem

Valued Contributor
pdauphin
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎03-27-2006
Message 9 of 19 (893 Views)

Re: Animating Positional representations in Studio

09-24-2010 05:52 AM in reply to: nrg_drink

Hello,

 

Any solution came up for this problem? I have the same problem here...

 

 

Thanks.

Employee
bill.bogan
Posts: 211
Registered: ‎03-13-2006
Message 10 of 19 (874 Views)

Re: Animating Positional representations in Studio

09-24-2010 08:50 AM in reply to: nrg_drink

Let me see if I understand this correctly...

  1. You bring values from excel into Inventor. Do you assign them to/as parameters?
  2. You then use the parameters/values to modify PRs. The PRs work in the assembly environment - no problem?
  3. In Inventor Studio, you use the Animate Positional Representations (PR) command to animate between specfied PRs

Does that accurately describe the process - albeit more steps may actually be required?

And, if that is the process, are you having problems with phase 3?

 

 



Bill Bogan
Principal Content Developer
Design, Lifecycle, and Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube