Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Airplane propeller complete beginner

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
3316 Views, 6 Replies

Airplane propeller complete beginner

Hi all,

I'm new on the forums here. I'm trying to model a propeller. I'm a beginner in inventor, but started trying (and looking on this forum for stuff). 

So what I have: Obviously a circle extruded in the middle. A little bit before the radius I have airfoil points which I connected and extruded. I know have like a wing mounted on a circular disk. 

But of course, as with any propeller, I also want to add twist. I have been thinking: if I devide the blade of the propeller in different planes, each with a different angle and place on those planes airfoils with different dimensions and connect them by extrusion, would this work? 

I don't really know how to start with modeling this. I have found a propeller on this forum but I can't really follow or understand the workflow in it.

I am able to connect the airfoil to the disk, but I really wonder how I get the twist in it and a round ending instead of the traditional squared tips.

Any input, links or text to read will be appreciated!

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
JDMather
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous wrote:

... I have found a propeller on this forum but I can't really follow or understand the workflow in it.

What is the url of the thread you are referencing?
Attach your ipt file here.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: JDMather

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/modeling-aircraft-propeller/td-p/2812914