Inventor General

srw2zn
Message 1 of 13 (390 Views)
Accepted Solution

Additional Planes (Novice Question)

390 Views, 12 Replies
08-30-2012 10:47 AM

I'm new to Inventor (started using it today) and I am trying to model a model rocket with three fins. Obviously I made a work plane on the YZ plane to sketch the first fin and extrude it. However, from above, the fins should be rotated 120 degrees from each other so they are evenly spaced around the fuselage. Essentially, I need a way to create two additional vertical planes that are rotated about the Y axis.

Thank you for any ideas.

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

*Pro
jletcher
Message 2 of 13 (383 Views)

Re: Additional Planes (Novice Question)

08-30-2012 11:04 AM in reply to: srw2zn

I don't want to sound rude my friend but that new of a question may never be answered you need to do the tutorials and then if you don't understand you can come here and ask. But if you are asking something that simple to learn you will be in here asking to many newbie questions and get frustrated that no one will answer you...

Look into circular Patterns and do the tutorials we are not teachers but helpers....

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Message 3 of 13 (376 Views)

08-30-2012 11:08 AM in reply to: srw2zn

Attach your ipt file here and someone will teach you how to do a Circular Feature Pattern.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Message 4 of 13 (367 Views)

08-30-2012 11:14 AM in reply to: JDMather