Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Action plan for dealing with 3d scan in point cloud format

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
DevinCurrie
444 Views, 3 Replies

Action plan for dealing with 3d scan in point cloud format

Hello, I'm new to Inventor (currently using 2012) so I'm not too familiar with the software.

I have 3d scan of aircraft door frame (see attach) in point cloud format. I'd like to overlap 5 different frames and construct a new 6th frame by averaging out all of the points.

At the moment, the 3d data files has no surface and I'm unsure if adding surface is need to help with the construction of the 6th frame. I will also need to take into consider alignment, point density, and orientation when overlapping all of the frames before I can start work to average all points (Note: each scan are taken from 5 different vehicle).

If it help, I have both Rhino3D and Autodesk Alias Design 2012.

What are the logical steps to do in this case?

Thanks!

Devin

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
JDMather
in reply to: DevinCurrie

It is unclear to me if this file includes all 5 scans or just 1 of the 5 (looks like the later case to me).

I don't know of an automatic Easy Button in Inventor to average the point locations.

Only way I know is to use them for visual reference and sketch using logical dimensions (most designers would use nice numbers, so it should be relatively easy to figure out the design intent within reason).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 4
DevinCurrie
in reply to: JDMather