Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3d sketch equation curve

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
JDMather
5878 Views, 4 Replies

3d sketch equation curve

I'm just starting out with learning equation curves in Inventor.

How can I get this curve

r(t)= ti + 4cos tj +9sin tk; where t is greater than or equal to 0

I would also like to figure out how to get this VBA as an equation curve

(see attached file)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
glenn-chun
in reply to: JDMather

@Anonymous wrote:

How can I get this curve

r(t)= ti + 4cos tj +9sin tk; where t is greater than or equal to 0

Hi JD,

I will use five turns for the elliptical helix for illustration purpose.  Enter the following Cartesian coordinates in the Equation Curve command:

x(t) = t

y(t) = 4 * cos(t)

z(t) = 9 * sin(t)

and you will see this elliptical helix:

eq_crv1.png

Or a much thinner curve:

eq_crv2.png

Note that the parameter t is unitless, but the sine and cosine functions can take angles in either radians or degrees.  When rad or deg is not specified inside sin() or cos(), the angle unit from the Document Settings is used.

angle_unit.png

The first and second curves above use radians and degrees, respectively.  I believe that the first curve is what you want to create.

You can check the Show units option to see all the hidden units.

eq_crv3.png

eq_crv4.png