Inventor General

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎07-20-2009
Message 11 of 26 (370 Views)

Re: 2012 Make Components glitch

11-23-2011 06:44 AM in reply to: brad

Same problem here.

 

Close and restart Inventor will help, but is not a satisfying.

Autodesk Inventor Professional 2014 SP1 update 4
Member
TonyBrowne
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-15-2011
Message 12 of 26 (340 Views)

Re: 2012 Make Components glitch

12-15-2011 08:12 PM in reply to: ToddHarris7556

I get the same thing sometimes I even get a file browser titled.

"Default Output Location of DWF file" 

and I have to type in *.iam to find assemblies.

It seems to not clear the parameters before calling the file browser routine and reuses the parameters from the last call.

 

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2012 SP1
Win 7/64
Dell Precision T1600 / 8GB NVIDIA Quadro 2000

Valued Contributor
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎06-12-2007
Message 13 of 26 (310 Views)

Re: 2012 Make Components glitch

02-06-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: ToddHarris7556

I just installed a IV on a new machine and using the default templates stored locally. This issues is still happening.

 

The make components dialog and the multi-body modeling workflow are the most usefull tools in Inventor. How has this bug not been fixed yet?

 

This issue makes these features nearly useless.

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,465
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 14 of 26 (277 Views)

Re: 2012 Make Components glitch

02-15-2012 09:13 PM in reply to: andrewdroth

Did you adjust any of your settings as described by the support blog?

 

http://beinginventive.typepad.com/.services/blog/6a01156ed841f2970c01156ed84aff970c/search?filter.q=...

Mark Flayler Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
Valued Contributor
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎06-12-2007
Message 15 of 26 (262 Views)

Re: 2012 Make Components glitch

02-16-2012 06:49 AM in reply to: Mark_Flayler

Hi Mark,

 

You'll have to be more clear about which settings you are refering to. I read through the posts in that link, and it didn't seem like any of those pertained to this issue.

 

This post did help me with the issue of our default templates not being used.

 

There is some really helpful stuff on there. Thanks.

 

Andrew

Member
TonyBrowne
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-15-2011
Message 16 of 26 (243 Views)

Re: 2012 Make Components glitch

02-16-2012 02:38 PM in reply to: PolemEngineering

Please reread the previous submissions. Everything you describe is what happens normally and is expected behaviour. This is not the issue we have. I have it frequently when inventor has been running for a while, intermittantly when you try to export bodies as parts  using either "Make Part" or "Make Components" to an existing assembly either the file browser does not start at all or it is called with the wrong parameters. If you restart inventor and follow the same procedure it starts working again. It is not operator error, it is a software bug. I've done plug in developement programming I know how the software works.

Member
TonyBrowne
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-15-2011
Message 17 of 26 (240 Views)

Re: 2012 Make Components glitch

02-16-2012 02:59 PM in reply to: PolemEngineering

I have reproduced the problem. I start inventor for the first time after restarting PC. I open an existing part. I click "Make Components" click the Target assembly location file brower button and choose "No" to browse to an existing assembly it all works fine. Ithen back out and export the part as a DWF. Then go back to "Make Components" and follow the exact same procedure. Whether I choose Yes or No for make new assembly I get a file browser window entitled "Default Output Location of DWF file".

*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,465
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 18 of 26 (232 Views)

Re: 2012 Make Components glitch

02-16-2012 05:20 PM in reply to: TonyBrowne

I did the exact procedure you used and I could not get the same error.  Not saying its not reproducable, but it certainly isn't on my machine.

Mark Flayler Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
*Expert Elite*
Mark_Flayler
Posts: 1,465
Registered: ‎07-30-2007
Message 19 of 26 (229 Views)

Re: 2012 Make Components glitch

02-16-2012 05:33 PM in reply to: ToddHarris7556

As to the original posters question (with the dialog not popping up), I had this issue logged recently and it has been addressed for a later release.  Did anyone else log the issue with Autodesk?  The more people that log this issue the more likely you will get a hotfix for it.  Supply and demand after all.

Mark Flayler Application Engineer - Manufacturing Solutions Division
IMAGINiT's Manufacturing Solutions Blog:
http://blogs.rand.com/manufacturing/
Valued Mentor
Posts: 677
Registered: ‎05-29-2009
Message 20 of 26 (212 Views)

Re: 2012 Make Components glitch

02-17-2012 07:33 AM in reply to: Mark_Flayler

Mark_Flayler wrote:

it has been addressed for a later release. 


 

Looks like I will be skipping 2012 all together then.  Interesting that according to wiki 2013 is code named Goodyear. Let's hope so.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube