Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ultrabook x Inventor 2015

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
dimitri
2827 Views, 7 Replies

ultrabook x Inventor 2015

Does any one know about Ultrabook performances in Autodesk Inventor 2015 ?

I imagine Intel i7-4500U 4th generation with HD 4400 graphics, like those XPS 12 and Lenovo Yoga 2, with 8 GB of RAM DDR3 and 256 GB SSD. Portability is important right now and I don't have it with my heavy and old system which is 17 in, weighting nearly 15 pounds...

I am not a designer, I will use it only for small changes or verification of assemblies with maximum 25000 elements. I use it also to FEA simulation.

I was able to do the job very well on an old workstation, a Dell precision M90 with Quadro FX 2500M, Core 2 duo processor at 2.33 GHz, 3.3 MB usable memory, and a SSD, but it was only DixrectX 9c and Inventor 2015 does not support it anymore.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
dgorsman
in reply to: dimitri

Those HD graphics are built into the CPU chip.  That means it uses system RAM, so only 8GB with OS, Inventor, *and* graphics all taking a chunk?  I'd say pretty dodgy.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.

Message 3 of 8
tmoney2007

25000 elements and FEA on and ultrabook isn't going to work out well for you. The power just isn't there. It doesn't particularly matter if you are making minor changes to large assemblies, you still have to open them.

Look into the Dell Precision M3800.  Workstation graphics and a true quad core processor in a thin and light package.

Or look at the Dell Precision M4800, it could pull that kind of thing off and it only weighs like 6 lbs vs 14.

Message 4 of 8
dimitri
in reply to: tmoney2007