Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
warrentdo
Posts: 737
Registered: ‎02-02-2004
Message 1 of 8 (265 Views)

three versions of inventor 2011, 2012 & 2013 with different IPJ

265 Views, 7 Replies
10-25-2013 05:28 AM

We are planning to have three versions of inventor 2011, 2012 & 2013 installed on all our machine to suit clients requirements.

We have different client on different versions.

We have more than one client on the same version but with different project files.

Is it possible to launch a specified version of inventor with a specified project file?

 

Currently I create a shortcut to a project file on the desktop and when we select the ipj it launches the last version of inventor that has been run but now we have three different versions of inventor this will not suffice.

 

Is it possible to launch a specified version of inventor with a specified project file?

 

Autocad does it fine with the old profile switch "D:\Autodesk\ACADM 2011\acad.exe" /p "X:\Applications\Autodesk\AutoCad\04 Profiles\Assystem.arg"

 

Regards

 

Warren.

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,473
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 8 (221 Views)

Re: three versions of inventor 2011, 2012 & 2013 with different IPJ

10-25-2013 08:15 AM in reply to: warrentdo
You can run them on the same machine, all of the registry settings go into version specific folders in the registry. I would simply launch Inventor using the actual Inventor shortcuts instead of double clicking the project file.
You can then simply switch project files from inside of Inventor when it's loaded.
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
warrentdo
Posts: 737
Registered: ‎02-02-2004
Message 3 of 8 (208 Views)

Re: three versions of inventor 2011, 2012 & 2013 with different IPJ

10-25-2013 08:32 AM in reply to: warrentdo

Hello, of course it can be done. Ive done it. and yes you can use the same ADMS 2013 does all three with the backpack.

 

I dont what users to change the project file, and of course change the vault working folder.

 

I would like it to be done through simple icons that sets up the inventor version and project file.

 

If the user selects the wrong Inventor version and vault project the data may get migrated.

I cannot risk that chance.

 

Regards

 

Warren.

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,473
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 4 of 8 (195 Views)

Re: three versions of inventor 2011, 2012 & 2013 with different IPJ

10-25-2013 09:38 AM in reply to: warrentdo
I don't know how to do it with a shortcut argument, if it's even possible. How would you feel about a macro of some sort?
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,026
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 8 (189 Views)

Re: three versions of inventor 2011, 2012 & 2013 with different IPJ

10-25-2013 09:46 AM in reply to: warrentdo

Since the file formats for each version of Inventor are different, I would go with completely different Project Files and separate directory structures. The older version won't be able to open the newer versions of Inventor files but you will be able to open older versions of Inventor files. Should someone migrate these older files you will have problems with the older Inventor data.

 

I would even incorporate the version into the project name just to help clarify which version of Inventor should use the project.

 

I would keep and use the standard desktop Inventor icons.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,473
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 6 of 8 (180 Views)

Re: three versions of inventor 2011, 2012 & 2013 with different IPJ

10-25-2013 09:54 AM in reply to: blair
That's why I'm thinking it might be wise to use some sort of a macro that check the current Inventor version and checks it against the active project. That would add a valuable layer of fool-proofing to his set-up.
Warren, do you have access to anyone that's handy with code? I'm thinking if this was my problem, I would write a stand-alone executable that you could use to prompt your users for what project (s)he needs then launch and configure the appropriate Inventor version.
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Distinguished Contributor
warrentdo
Posts: 737
Registered: ‎02-02-2004
Message 7 of 8 (155 Views)

Re: three versions of inventor 2011, 2012 & 2013 with different IPJ

10-25-2013 10:50 PM in reply to: warrentdo
Hello, I have 3 inventor versions and 9 clients so I have 9 sets of project files, templates, styles, all containing clients name and inventor version in naming. Currently I create a shortcut to ipj on desktop and change and rename icon. This launches inventor but last loaded and loads ipj. Now 3 versions of inventor I have a problem. AutoCAD no problem as you can do it via /p in shortcut. Yes, I think code would do it I was hoping there was another way as I've no code experience. Ive a feeling I may have by this time next week :-)
Warren.
Distinguished Contributor
warrentdo
Posts: 737
Registered: ‎02-02-2004
Message 8 of 8 (153 Views)

Re: three versions of inventor 2011, 2012 & 2013 with different IPJ

10-25-2013 11:10 PM in reply to: warrentdo
Maybe this. Create a new desktop icon with icon to suit inventor version colour. Re name to suit client name & inv version. Add in launch bit of icon "C:\Program Files\autodesk\inventor 2011\inventor" "X:\application\autodesk\inventor\project file\bob 2011.ipj" it may work but currently in bed on phone. Will have to check Monday :-)

Warren.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.