Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
eveylynne
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎12-16-2011
Message 1 of 4 (142 Views)
Accepted Solution

text size

142 Views, 3 Replies
04-04-2013 08:29 AM

I need to emboss the word "entrance" on a massive part.  When editing the text, I can't get it to go any larger than 16.383" in the format text window.

I need it to be about 2x larger in order for it to be seen correctly.  How can I get around this limit, without drawling the text myself?

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,025
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 4 (137 Views)

Re: text size

04-04-2013 08:38 AM in reply to: eveylynne

I think this is a Windows limit for text. I might create the text at the 1/2" size as a single IPT and then derive/scale to get the final size. Then place the part (IPT) file in your assembly.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,875
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 3 of 4 (132 Views)

Re: text size

04-04-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: eveylynne

Hi eveylynne,

 

I've never noticed this before, but I just tested it and saw similar results. I'm not sure why it's holding that value.


As a workaround try this:

Create your text as 10" (or some even, easily scaled number)

Then use the Scale tool (found on the Modify panel of the Sketch tab)

Enter a Scale Factor to get your desired size or just eyeball it.

Once it scaled up it appears you can set the value by editing the text again.

 

Strange behavior, but it seemed to work.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Distinguished Mentor
swhite
Posts: 531
Registered: ‎11-08-2012
Message 4 of 4 (117 Views)

Re: text size

04-04-2013 08:57 AM in reply to: eveylynne

Type the size in decimal inches 24.0, 22.5, etc and it will work fine, do not use the inch (") marks. You may need to finish the text edit then re-edit and retypr the number to set it. After the first time it works no problems. If you still have problems it could be your font choice. Not all fonts are truely scalable, some have set size limits and some are still bitmap fonts and not true type fonts (years of being a graphic designer)

text size.PNG

Steven White
Lee C. Moore, Inc.
www.lcm-wci.com
Inventor 2011
Intel Dual Xeon E31225 @ 3.1 GHz CPU
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600 GPU
Windows 7 - 64 Bit
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.