Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jrittenhouse
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 1 of 5 (285 Views)

step file import

285 Views, 4 Replies
11-06-2012 02:31 PM

Im importing .stp files and only want to imort the surfaces, but some files have to have the solid imported as well.  Can anyone tell me why the file is like this?

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,344
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 5 (284 Views)

Re: step file import

11-06-2012 02:34 PM in reply to: jrittenhouse

What Options did you set for import?

Can you zip and attach the original STEP file here?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Contributor
jrittenhouse
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 3 of 5 (280 Views)

Re: step file import

11-06-2012 03:03 PM in reply to: jrittenhouse

wrong terms.  Im opening the file and changing the options, then saving as all file and placing into assembly file.  I jsut need to know why the file has to have the solids brought in and not the surfaces.  Is it how its saved or created?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,344
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 5 (268 Views)

Re: step file import

11-06-2012 03:37 PM in reply to: jrittenhouse

jrittenhouse wrote:

  Can anyone tell me why the file is like this?

 



Can you attach the file here?

Yes/No

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Employee
KevinLi-Autodesk
Posts: 431
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 5 of 5 (260 Views)

Re: step file import

11-06-2012 06:03 PM in reply to: jrittenhouse

Hi jrittenhouse,

 

Thanks for your report and I suppose you use Inventor professional 2013.

 

If your STEP file has the solid and surface definitions, then when you place it into assembly via Assembly tab -> Place button -> select your STEP file -> hit Options -> only turn on "Surfaces" checkbox in "Entity Types to Import" group, turn off all other options, only surface geometry should be imported. If that is not the case, it is a defect then.

 

In order to narrow down and reproduce your problem and investigate it, it is better to has your STEP file just as JD's suggestion. You can attach it in this forum or send it to me Hongyuan.Li@autodesk.com , if the model is very large I can create a safe FTP server for you to post.

 

Thanks for your support !!!

 

 

Regards,

Kevin Li

Quality Assurance Team

Autodesk, Inc. 

Kevin-Hongyuan Li
Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube