Inventor General Discussion

Employee
steven.dennis
Message 41 of 44 (154 Views)

Re: speeding up constrain execution

10-26-2012 07:26 AM in reply to: mrattray

OK so we seem to have narrowed it down to the part adaptively recomputing itself.  Thanks for sticking with us.

Steve Dennis
Sr. Principal Engineer
Inventor
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Mentor
stevec781
Message 42 of 44 (146 Views)

10-26-2012 08:33 AM in reply to: steven.dennis

I think the point I have been trying to make has been missed.  It's not so much that adaptivity can slow a model down, we all know that, it's that adding a mate or dragging a component triggers a partial rebuild.  If it didn't trigger the rebuild, adpative wouldn't parts wouldn't matter.  The OP shouldnt have to disable the intelligence in his model in order to quickly place a new part. 

I'm no programmer (I wish I was) but I would think say for a face/face mate that once the faces have been selected the logic would be move part A to part B, update the graphics, stop thinking.  The selection process checks that the faces are valid so I cant see why there is any rebuilding of parts, adaptive or not, 50 or 50,000.  Just place the part and stop, especially when the model is already up to date.

There are things I like about Inventor, if I didn't I wouldn't be spending my time testing its suitability for my business expansion.  In some areas it's far superior to its competitors, but in some it's not.

Steve I didnt mean to criticise your expertise, in fact the opposite.  Based on your position I assumed that you know your stuff so when you said 200 seemed a lot from your point of view I took that as informed advice about Inventors ability from someone that knows what he is talking about.  Sorry if it came across differently. 

Its great that you have found a work around for the OP but I hope you guys review the way Inventor handles mates.