Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
egghead
Posts: 527
Registered: ‎05-07-2004
Message 1 of 9 (483 Views)
Accepted Solution

new laptop

483 Views, 8 Replies
02-17-2012 04:27 AM

I am looking to find a laptop for running Inventor 2012 on.

 

I have found several that have plenty of RAM etc, the issue is with the graphics card.

 

The ones i have found tend to have NIVIDIA Geforce GTX560 or GT520M, would either of these do the job.

 

If not could anyone recomend somewhere that I can find a laptop to run Inventor 2012.

Product Support
jingy
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎10-14-2007
Message 2 of 9 (462 Views)

Re: new laptop

02-19-2012 10:00 PM in reply to: egghead

You could find the system requirement for Inventor 2012.

http://usa.autodesk.com/autodesk-inventor/system-requirements/

 

And you could also check the graphic card is certifies or not.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/cert?siteID=123112&id=16391880



Yong Jing
Product Support Specialist
Frontline Technical Support, CSS. GCSO
Distinguished Contributor
egghead
Posts: 527
Registered: ‎05-07-2004
Message 3 of 9 (454 Views)

Re: new laptop

02-19-2012 11:54 PM in reply to: jingy

I had already looked at the recomended and certified part of the site and the laptop spec matches everythign appart from the graphics card. I was asking if the graphics card spec that i was given would do the job.

 

I have not been able to find a laptop yet with a certified video card in it.

Product Support
jingy
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎10-14-2007
Message 4 of 9 (449 Views)

Re: new laptop

02-20-2012 12:22 AM in reply to: egghead

For Inventor, only graphic card is limitation, we have no laptop to suggested.



Yong Jing
Product Support Specialist
Frontline Technical Support, CSS. GCSO
Mentor
PACDrafting
Posts: 587
Registered: ‎10-22-2007
Message 5 of 9 (441 Views)

Re: new laptop

02-20-2012 02:42 AM in reply to: egghead
The video cards you mentioned are fine. The GTX 560 is my preferred.
Mentor
Bill.Schmid
Posts: 394
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
Message 6 of 9 (312 Views)

Re: new laptop

09-07-2012 04:12 AM in reply to: egghead

Did you purchase a system?  What exactly did you wind up getting and how satisfied with it are you?

Valued Contributor
WORKSTATIONresearch
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎05-05-2007
Message 7 of 9 (265 Views)

Re: new laptop

10-09-2012 12:02 AM in reply to: egghead

I’m also looking for an Inventor capable laptop as an Autodesk Product Design Suite 2013 user.  By following the link provided by “jingy” it seems Autodesk is still tied to the Quadro line of graphics cards, as far as Nvidia is concerned.  Others who use Inventor and post here have stated that they successfully use high end gaming cards, which are a lot cheaper and provide excellent performance and results with Autodesk products.  They generally believe that Autodesk has a vested interest in researching in depth the Quadro line and therefore doesn’t have the resources to investigate the compatibility of gaming cards or to design their software to be compatible.

 

The following is a link to a laptop with claims of being able to run Inventor.  The specs seem to confirm the claim:

 

EUROCOM Configuration

 

This is a rather interesting link that behaves quite differently than any other I’ve accessed.  It takes you to a web page where you can select the laptop configuration for your needs.  It does have processor speeds well over 3 GHz and all other specs exceed Inventor requirements.

 

It is a bit pricey, unless for you it is no object, and somewhat like Dell, the more features you add the more the price escalates in a hyper inflated fashion.  I usually start at specs like this and back down to some minimum that will do the job from another competitor.

 

Note that this is an English company.  I haven’t looked into whether they have US sales offices.

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,518
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 8 of 9 (241 Views)

Re: new laptop

10-09-2012 04:47 AM in reply to: WORKSTATIONresearch

I am running 2013 fine on an Alienware 18" with game card. (specs below)

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
WORKSTATIONresearch
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎05-05-2007
Message 9 of 9 (223 Views)

Re: new laptop

10-09-2012 06:53 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks for your input.  Have you challenged your system using Inventor with any models having, say, 5000 parts or more?

 

Incidentally, besides EuroCom, I looked at what Dell has to offer.  Their pricing and features are comparable to EuroCom, and they are US based.  A workstation laptop is about $3000 with minimal add-ons.  The EuroCom seems to have a little bit better specs including higher processor speeds, more memory capacity and higher end video card options.

 

One thing I noticed about Dell is that they use the optical drive bay if a hard drive is selected, so that means an optical drive cannot be added.  Otherwise an SSD drive is standard and an optical drive can be specified.  I guess the option then becomes a USB flash drive for removable storage.  I’m not sure at this point whether SSD drives are a good idea from a reliability standpoint.  A hard drive will usually give some hint that a failure is about to take place and the user can back up before the drive becomes unusable.  I suspect an SSD will give no hint of failure until all of a sudden it stops working.  On the other hand most who comment on SSD drives say they last longer.  In a laptop they will generate less heat, which is a plus.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.