Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
jlane
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 1 of 9 (352 Views)

iPart parameters in iAssembly general table

352 Views, 8 Replies
12-20-2012 10:17 AM

How can I display iPart parameters in an iAssembly general table?

 

On my .dwg I would like to use one detail with a table.  The 2 table columns I need are:

(1)   iAssembly name (no problems here, shows up in the general table by default)

(2)   Length (this parameter value is in the iPart)

 

I can't find any solutions to this in the discussion groups anywhere.

 

Thanks for your help!

__________________________
jlane
Inventor RS 2011
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011
ASD 2013
Vault Collaboration 2011
Windows 7 Pro
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,200
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 9 (350 Views)

Re: iPart parameters in iAssembly general table

12-20-2012 10:31 AM in reply to: jlane

You can't control the length (dimension variable) from within the iassembly.

What you are going to have to do is create an ipart of that part with all of the

variable lengths.  Then specify the specific ipart within the iassembly.

Hope this makes sense.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Active Contributor
jlane
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 3 of 9 (346 Views)

Re: iPart parameters in iAssembly general table

12-20-2012 10:37 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Yes.  I have that all set up nicley.  Works like a charm.

 

What I'm trying to do is have the iPart parameter display in a table.  When I place my iAssembly into a .dwg and create a General Table from it, I need the iPart parameters to show up for the fabricator.

 

Any ideas?  Thanks!

__________________________
jlane
Inventor RS 2011
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011
ASD 2013
Vault Collaboration 2011
Windows 7 Pro
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,200
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 4 of 9 (341 Views)

Re: iPart parameters in iAssembly general table

12-20-2012 10:48 AM in reply to: jlane

Are you trying to get the parameters from the factory table to basically showup in the drawing in a general table?

 

If that is the case, take a look at this link.

http://forums.autodesk.com/autodesk/attachments/autodesk/78/421283/1/Custom%20Parameter%20Formatting...

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Active Contributor
jlane
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 5 of 9 (334 Views)

Re: iPart parameters in iAssembly general table

12-20-2012 10:51 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Yes, that's right.  I hope it's just something simple that I'm missing...

__________________________
jlane
Inventor RS 2011
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011
ASD 2013
Vault Collaboration 2011
Windows 7 Pro
Active Contributor
jlane
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 6 of 9 (329 Views)

Re: iPart parameters in iAssembly general table

12-20-2012 11:02 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

I've attached a screen shot of a simple iAssembly with a general table.  I've added a custom property column called "LENGTH".   All I need now is to get the iPart parameter for "LENGTH" to be displayed.

__________________________
jlane
Inventor RS 2011
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011
ASD 2013
Vault Collaboration 2011
Windows 7 Pro
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,200
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 7 of 9 (322 Views)

Re: iPart parameters in iAssembly general table

12-20-2012 11:32 AM in reply to: jlane

Did the link in my last posting not give you what you are looking for?

I think it does cover what you are asking.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Active Contributor
jlane
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎07-21-2011
Message 8 of 9 (317 Views)

Re: iPart parameters in iAssembly general table

12-20-2012 12:00 PM in reply to: Cadmanto

Thanks for the White Paper Scott.  Good reference material.  We've got the hang of setting up parameters and iProperties for "Parts List" on .dwgs. 

 

I think my problem is a different scenario.  When a table of the entire iAssembly "factory" is needed, you need to use "General Table" rather than "Parts List".  How can I push the iPart parameter to the iAssembly level?

 

I've attached a screen shot of the general table for the iPart after I've placed it on my .dwg.  I've added a custom column that matches the name of the iPart parameter I need shown.  Works perfect.  But I need that info displayed at the iAssembly level.

 

Thanks for your patience...

__________________________
jlane
Inventor RS 2011
AutoCAD Mechanical 2011
ASD 2013
Vault Collaboration 2011
Windows 7 Pro
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,200
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 9 of 9 (294 Views)

Re: iPart parameters in iAssembly general table

12-21-2012 10:05 AM in reply to: jlane

The only other way I can think of that this might be able to be done is through ilogic.

Unfortunately that is not my fotea.  So I can't help you with that.  That is if you want to keep

this all parametric.  Which I am assuming you are.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube