Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
danzco
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Message 1 of 9 (726 Views)
Accepted Solution

iLogic material update bug

726 Views, 8 Replies
07-02-2012 09:15 AM

Hello,

 

I use the attached part template to create parts on a regular basis.  It has a small iLogic form built in to allow you to quickly enter the size, material, etc.

 

My challenge is that the material drop down on the title bar does not update when the material is changed by iLogic.  This is true regardless of if the material is changed via the form or in the parameters window. 

 

Material = Parameter("Material")
If Material = "Aluminum" Then
	iProperties.Material = "Aluminum-6061"
ElseIf Material = "Ductile" Then
	iProperties.Material = "Ductile Iron"
End If

 

The good news is that the material is actually being changed in the iProperties.  It's just a bit distressing that the new titlebar does not reflect the change.

 

(Inventor 2012 w/ Update 1 on Windows 7 64-bit)

Employee
Yijiang.Cai
Posts: 357
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 2 of 9 (696 Views)

Re: iLogic material update bug

07-04-2012 12:00 AM in reply to: danzco

It looks that the material for the active document is not refreshed after using iLogic rule to change the material. But when you click the top node in browser after changing the material, it will be refreshed. So you could add the code lines below the existing code lines in the rule to accomplish this -

Dim oNode As BrowserNode
oNode = ThisApplication.ActiveDocument.BrowserPanes.ActivePane.TopNode

oNode.DoSelect

 

Thanks,
River

Thanks,
River Cai

Inventor Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Contributor
danzco
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
Message 3 of 9 (677 Views)

Re: iLogic material update bug

07-05-2012 08:35 AM in reply to: Yijiang.Cai

Thank you for the code; that did the trick.

 

I also received an example file from Curtis_Waguespack that was helpful. One common denominator I found with both of the solutions is that when changing the material via the iLogic form everything works as expected.  When the parameter is modified directly in the paramters window though it still fails to update the titlebar, although iProperties.Material does get changed correctly.

Member
Bwest44
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 4 of 9 (549 Views)

Re: iLogic material update bug

11-15-2012 02:11 PM in reply to: danzco

I'm still struggling to make this work. Is there something I'm missing with the add in code you suggested, River?

Dim oNode As BrowserNode oNode = ThisApplication.ActiveDocument.BrowserPanes.ActivePane.TopNode

oNode.DoSelect

I got error messages I don't know how to solve when I tried it.

Also, and this is the big question, how do I link Appearances to Materials? I'm working on Wooden parts and the appearance is very important.

Employee
Yijiang.Cai
Posts: 357
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 5 of 9 (542 Views)

Re: iLogic material update bug

11-15-2012 07:39 PM in reply to: danzco

Please see the attached model.

 

Before you use the iLogic form to customize the model, please clear the appearance overriden using clear command near the appearance drop-down list. And it should work fine when using iLogic form to customzie the model, and the appearance will be linked with material too.

Thanks,
River Cai

Inventor Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
Bwest44
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 6 of 9 (525 Views)

Re: iLogic material update bug

11-16-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: Yijiang.Cai

Thanks, I got it working for Materials. I'm not finding that the Appearances are linked to the Materials though, even though they're both reading from Autodesk Libraries with overrides cleared.

I still need to find a way to customise the Appearances with an iLogic form somehow. It has to work on large assemblies with multiple materials in them, all linked with ilogic. There has to be a way to do that.

Member
Bwest44
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 7 of 9 (468 Views)

Re: iLogic material update bug

11-26-2012 09:48 AM in reply to: Bwest44

I got this working, thanks to the above advice. The Gods of neverending programming are well happy! It means adding the same parameters and rules to every single piece as far as I can figure it.

Any simpler suggestions?

Employee
Yijiang.Cai
Posts: 357
Registered: ‎05-20-2008
Message 8 of 9 (452 Views)

Re: iLogic material update bug

11-26-2012 10:49 PM in reply to: danzco

For the legacy files, you have to update the iLogic rule manually one by one. For the new files, maybe you could consider to create one template using the updated iLogic rule.

Thanks,
River Cai

Inventor Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
Bwest44
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-16-2012
Message 9 of 9 (443 Views)

Re: iLogic material update bug

11-27-2012 05:51 AM in reply to: danzco
I'll do that, thanks. I usually use pieces that are set up with the parameters I need anyway. Best regards, Bill West. Mobile: (914) 357-1729 Home: (914) 738-9047 E-mail: wg.west@earthlink.net 7 Priory Lane Pelham Manor NY 10803

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube