Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iLogic from template assy to copy design assy

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
968 Views, 4 Replies

iLogic from template assy to copy design assy

Hello,

I'm new to this discussion group and new to iLogic.

The story: we made up an assembly template to help us with our design and inside that template I made up some basic iLogics. We want to control the size of specific parts based on material thickness and some other parameter. I made it using parameters in specific components and making them equal to a certain value minus material thickness. But after the copy design, the name of the parts (components) change and the iLogic is useless.....unless it is done so it looks for part of the component name (which stays the same), gets the parameter in question and makes equal again to a certain value minus material thickness....I don't know how to make this advanced iLogic...

'updates Part 1 Thickness according to material thickness
Parameter("Template Part 1:1", "Thickness")= (1.950 in - Mat_Thickness) + .015 in

'makes Part 2 Thickness equal to Part 1 Thickness
Parameter("Template Part 2:1", "Thickness") = (1.950 in - Mat_Thickness) + .015 in

Above it is an example of what I've done. The "Template" part of the name changes after the copy design. The "Part 1" or "Part 2" stay the same. Any idea how to look for the part with a certain name, get the parameter and make it equal to something or to another parameter from another component?

Thanks,

Formcast

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

I found this code that looks for files in an assembly, but I need iLogic to look for a certain file name and change a parameter in that file based on the above equation.

Here is the code:

Dim openDoc As Document