Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
signmeup
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-18-2007
Message 1 of 6 (351 Views)
Accepted Solution

ground to origin

351 Views, 5 Replies
11-01-2011 01:49 AM

I'd like to have a menu option next to "Grounded" which is "Grounded to origin", to save setting three flush constraints every time I pull a part into an assembly and want it to have the same origin as the assembly. This is something I do quite a lot using the multibody part > derived part > assembly workflow. Apart from saving time it would save cluttering up the model browser. In the meantime is there a scripting method of doing this with one click?

Product Design Suite 2014, HP Z400 12Gb, Nvidia Quadro 2000
*Expert Elite*
sam_m
Posts: 595
Registered: ‎11-05-2003
Message 2 of 6 (349 Views)

Re: ground to origin

11-01-2011 02:02 AM in reply to: signmeup

Have you tried "Ground and Root Component"?

 


Assembly ribbon -> Productivity drop-down -> Ground and Root (as shown in the attached pic)

 

it will assign a flush contraint to all 3 origin-planes, thus locking the part to the origin - isn't that what you're after?

 

The annoying by-product is re-shuffling the browser-tree, moving this part to the top, which is a little frustrating at times...

----------
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question...
but please understand that the solution may not be the answer you're wanting to hear...

If you have found any post to be helpful, even if it's not a direct solution, then please provide that author kudos - spread that love :smileyvery-happy:

Lithium - helping nntp users with mania, depression and headaches
Distinguished Contributor
signmeup
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-18-2007
Message 3 of 6 (343 Views)

Re: ground to origin

11-01-2011 02:24 AM in reply to: sam_m

I'd never even looked at the productivity drop down so thanks a lot for that. You're right that it doesn't make any sense to move the component to the top of the browser, but it's easy enough to drag it back to its former place in the tree.

I still have a problem in that there is no indication that the component is grounded at the origin. It could be grounded anywhere, or just 0.01mm off. Doesn't make for robust modelling or make it possible to quickly verify a model. Checking would mean manually measuring between each plane. It wouldn't even have to be a separate command, it could just be a different color pin when a component is grounded to the assembly origin. [I've bolded this because I think it's a really good idea that could be easily implemented - anyone like to vote on this?]

Another way of doing it is to use the "place at component origin" command and select the base component, or have a special "origin" component. This command only works on new components being placed and not ones already in the assembly, and still there is no easily verified indication in the browser. The flush constraints are not necessarily to origin planes.

Product Design Suite 2014, HP Z400 12Gb, Nvidia Quadro 2000
Valued Mentor
pcunningham1
Posts: 1,195
Registered: ‎10-07-2003
Message 4 of 6 (327 Views)

Re: ground to origin

11-01-2011 04:03 AM in reply to: signmeup

signmeup wrote:
...Checking would mean manually measuring between each plane...


I'm using an older version, but the way I ground a component to the origin, or verify it, is by using the RMB>Properties>Occurence Tab.

Paul Cunningham
IV2008
Distinguished Contributor
signmeup
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-18-2007
Message 5 of 6 (323 Views)

Re: ground to origin

11-01-2011 04:14 AM in reply to: pcunningham1

Thanks. Awesome. I've never even noticed that tab before. It's also an easy way to ground a component to the origin just by typing zeros into the offset boxes and clicking the ground checkbox. I also noticed that using the productivity button creates redundant constraints... obvious in the latest version now redundant constraints are flagged. So these are a sort of visual verification, although again it's not transparent what the constraints are to.

I still think a coloured pin is a good idea.

Product Design Suite 2014, HP Z400 12Gb, Nvidia Quadro 2000
Valued Mentor
pcunningham1
Posts: 1,195
Registered: ‎10-07-2003
Message 6 of 6 (317 Views)

Re: ground to origin

11-01-2011 04:19 AM in reply to: signmeup

signmeup wrote:

... It's also an easy way to ground a component to the origin just by typing zeros into the offset boxes and clicking the ground checkbox. ..



Yep, that's exactly how I do it. I only wish it would let you change the angular orientation there as well.

Paul Cunningham
IV2008

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube