Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

formats

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
331 Views, 3 Replies

formats

Heys guys,

Just chasing some advice.

Its probably a stupid question but i'm self taught and still learning alot.

I've got a heap of parts(3D) drawn up that are about to be CNC machined up.

The place doing the machining uses Matzak CNC machines that need to have the dimensons manually entered into the machine.

What is the easiest way to turn my parts into plans with all desired dimensions that i can print out and give to the machinist?

Any help would be really appreciated

Thanks

Ben

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Inv_kaos
in reply to: Anonymous

Just create a new drawing file (idw) then place a base view, project an orthogonal view or two, then start adding dimensions until the machinist has enough information to code in the part. You can also export these views as dwg or dxf if they can use the electronic copies on their own machines. Maybe go to the getting started tab -> tutorials and then go through some of the drawing tutorials.
Please mark as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question or "Kudos" if you found it useful.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Stew, AICP
Inventor Professional 2013, Autodesk Simulation Multiphysics 2013
Windows 7 x64 Core i7 32GB Ram FX2000
Message 3 of 4
Anonymous
in reply to: Inv_kaos

No worries, I'll give that a go. Thanks very much
Message 4 of 4
JDMather
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous wrote:

The place doing the machining uses Matzak CNC machines that need to have the dimensons manually entered into the machine.

This isn't your problem - but that isn't an efficient method of using these Mazak CNC machines.