Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
inventorguy
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 1 of 10 (340 Views)

copy/pattern welds

340 Views, 9 Replies
12-29-2008 12:41 PM
ok... so i have a cylender 1.5 inches in diameter and .75 inches tall i need to weld it to a plate (with the cylender standing upright so that the flat circular base is sitting on the plate) it is to be welded in 3 places with a fillet weld equally spaced at 120 degrees apart from center to center of the welds and the welds are each .5 inches long and .19 thick... heres the catch... one edge of the plate is flush or (tangent) with the cylendrical face so u cant weld there obviously... so the orientation of the welds matters... im new to using the weld feature on inventor and my problem is that when i use the fillet weld it seems inventor chooses where it wants to put these three welds... and i thought i could shift them one way or the other by using the "offset" but im not even sure what offset is for? i tried looking it up on help and in my book... and i cant seem to get the "to" "from" to work on this operation either... i can select somthing for the "from" but cant do anything to select a "to"... i have successfully gone to "preparation" and cut a chamfer in the cylender by rotating a triangular sketch 38.21656051 degrees from a plane i created in my desired location 38.21656051 degrees is what i calculated to be a .5 inch arc... i then went to welds and filled the chamfer cut out with weld using groove weld then put a fillet weld over that weld using the fillet weld...perfect!! all done... except that i have to go back and do this 2 more times for the weld 120 degrees from the first... and then go back and do it again for the 3rd weld... ok all done... perfect... except that i have 5 more cylenders to do... thats 15 sketchs... 15 rovolves for the chamfers... 15 groove welds... 15 more fillet welds until its all done... and perfect... plz tell me there is an easier way?
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 2 of 10 (340 Views)

Re: copy/pattern welds

12-29-2008 01:07 PM in reply to: inventorguy

Split the plate face.

 



--
Dennis Jeffrey, Autodesk Inventor Certified
Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified
Expert.
Instructor/Author/Sr. App Engr.
AIP 2008 SP2, AIP 2009-SP1
PcCillin AV
HP zv5000  AMD64 2GB - Geforce Go 440, Driver: .8185
XP
Pro SP3, Windows XP Silver Theme

href="http://teknigroup.com">http://teknigroup.com
Distinguished Contributor
inventorguy
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 3 of 10 (340 Views)

Re: copy/pattern welds

12-29-2008 01:20 PM in reply to: inventorguy
i clicked ur link and read the explanation (1st page) there may have been more pages or if i had clicked download but i didnt... but anyways... i knew u would tell me to use split... so i already tried that before i ever posted... however i i went to preparations and the split option was grayed out... so i decided i couldnt use split? correct? so i tried many other routes... also im not real sure if u wanted me to do a full weld all the way around the cylender and then cut it up? however i cant do this because my cylender is right on the edge of the plate instead of in the middle so there is no room for the weld to make it around as previously mentioned...
*Dennis Jeffrey
Message 4 of 10 (340 Views)

Re: copy/pattern welds

12-29-2008 01:22 PM in reply to: inventorguy

Split is a PART FEATURE. Edit the plate and add a sketch to
create the Face split.


--
Dennis Jeffrey, Autodesk Inventor Certified
Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified
Expert.
Instructor/Author/Sr. App Engr.
AIP 2008 SP2, AIP 2009-SP1
PcCillin AV
HP zv5000  AMD64 2GB - Geforce Go 440, Driver: .8185
XP
Pro SP3, Windows XP Silver Theme

href="http://teknigroup.com">http://teknigroup.com
Distinguished Contributor
inventorguy
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 5 of 10 (340 Views)

Re: copy/pattern welds

12-29-2008 01:27 PM in reply to: inventorguy
gee that sounds like it probably should have been painfully obvious to me... ill try that out... but its 4:30 and even with 2 cpu's my computer is running a little slow with this one so it might be tomorrow b4 u hear back from me... but i might stay late trying to get this wrapped up
Distinguished Contributor
inventorguy
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 6 of 10 (340 Views)

Re: copy/pattern welds

12-29-2008 01:30 PM in reply to: inventorguy
but i guess copying a weld or patterning a weld is out of the question correct?
*Blair Stunder
Message 7 of 10 (340 Views)

Re: copy/pattern welds

12-29-2008 01:35 PM in reply to: inventorguy

You guess is correct, return back you your part
enviroment and splitt the face


--
IV2009-Pro Sp1
Dell 670 dual Xeon - 3.2
3gb memory,
SCSI320-15k rpm
XP-Pro, sp3
Quadro FX3400: Driver: 178.26
Direct3D
SpacePilot Rel V: 3.6.10 Dvr V: 6.6.4 Firmware 3.12


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
but
i guess copying a weld or patterning a weld is out of the question
correct?
Distinguished Contributor
inventorguy
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎10-24-2008
Message 8 of 10 (340 Views)

Re: copy/pattern welds

12-30-2008 04:44 AM in reply to: inventorguy
thank you... all done... much faster...
Employee
JoyceZhou
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎05-19-2008
Message 9 of 10 (340 Views)

Re: copy/pattern welds

01-13-2009 12:57 AM in reply to: inventorguy
Thanks for everyone's feedback for the issue.
Split in part is used to help solve such issues in R2009 or earlier build.
and the wish to add offset control in Fillet weld dialog has been already added in our quality database.

Thanks again
Joyce Zhou(Autodesk QA)


Joyce-Jinghua Zhou
Sr. Software QA Engineer
Inventor Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
timet028
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-05-2012
Message 10 of 10 (258 Views)

copy/pattern welds

09-21-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: inventorguy

I have a cylinder assembly that I am placing 36 brackets in a circular pattern on to weld the next cyldiner assembly with.  I can do a circular pattern of this bracket to get all 36 on, can I do the same with the weld so that I don't  need to do it 36 times on each bracket twice.

 

I come from Solidworks and Pro-E world and am new to Inventer Pro 2013.  Would appreciate any help on this one.

 

Thanks,

Steven

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.