Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
James__S
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 1 of 16 (161 Views)
Accepted Solution

changing parameters

161 Views, 15 Replies
04-11-2014 07:43 PM

I have looked at the fx parameters as i want to change the Chamfer1 (fx.d5 & fx.d6) so that i can place a fillet on the nut....how do i decrease the face size so that i can use a small size fillet on the nut

JS

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,512
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 16 (138 Views)

Re: changing parameters

04-12-2014 03:59 AM in reply to: James__S

Set d5 and d6 to 95% of the face width value (or whatever percentage you need).

 

Percentage.PNG

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
James__S
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 3 of 16 (130 Views)

Re: changing parameters

04-12-2014 04:58 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thank you for solution

 

Can both the Bolt and Nut have a real thread on the part rather then an appearance thread?

Is this possible?

 

Best Regards

 

James

Distinguished Mentor
mdavis22569
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎05-26-2005
Message 4 of 16 (128 Views)

Re: changing parameters

04-12-2014 05:02 AM in reply to: James__S
You can put in a real thread ... but if you're going to do it yourself ... check out a few websites to see if it's already down to save you time. McMaster Carr has a lot of 3d fasteners available that you can download that have the threads shown. Mike
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.
--------------------------------------
Michael Davis
Charlotte, NC
Distinguished Contributor
James__S
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 5 of 16 (121 Views)

Re: changing parameters

04-12-2014 05:24 AM in reply to: mdavis22569

I wanted to see if i could learn the technique myself but i not sure how to start this.I think a coil feature would be one of the required tool but any suggestions on how to employ the technique of creating a real thread.

Cheers

JS

Distinguished Mentor
mdavis22569
Posts: 546
Registered: ‎05-26-2005
Message 6 of 16 (118 Views)

Re: changing parameters

04-12-2014 05:33 AM in reply to: James__S
here are a few ways via Youtube https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=how+to+make+a+thread+cut+out+in+Inventor
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.
--------------------------------------
Michael Davis
Charlotte, NC
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,512
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 7 of 16 (114 Views)

Re: changing parameters

04-12-2014 05:35 AM in reply to: James__S

See attached

or

try Fusion 360.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
James__S
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 8 of 16 (103 Views)

Re: changing parameters

04-12-2014 06:03 AM in reply to: JDMather

Bolt looks great

 

I am presuming the nut follows the same technique but will only require 1 coil feature

 

Thanks again

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,512
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 9 of 16 (97 Views)

Re: changing parameters

04-12-2014 06:57 AM in reply to: James__S

Yes.

If you want more precise geometry (I have sharp V at OD (and at the root, but that is less of a concern)) consult your Machinery's Handbook.  Also, if you are going to 3D Print I chase a second thread offset a bit to increase clearance as the 3D Printing processes are not precise.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Distinguished Contributor
James__S
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
Message 10 of 16 (83 Views)

Re: changing parameters

04-12-2014 07:58 AM in reply to: JDMather

I thought i would post back with the 2 examples.

Is this Nut thread correct to suit the Bolt?

How do i now constrain these so that they do not interfere with each other in assembly mode?

 

eg....The assembly attached is constrained but there is interference?

 

Maybe it cannot be used this way and cosmetic threads will be better

 

Thanks

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.