Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
martijnvremmerden
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-11-2014
Message 1 of 7 (179 Views)
Accepted Solution

adding depth in a picture

179 Views, 6 Replies
02-11-2014 10:07 PM

Hello,

 

I'm a little stuck using Autodesk, I really want to have my logo engraved into a custom build project...

but the only thing I Know so far is how to add a image file, and how to engrave text.

 

is it possible to engrave a imagefile into a solid body (like text)

 

cya

Active Contributor
raveruben
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎11-27-2013
Message 2 of 7 (170 Views)

Re: adding depth in a picture

02-11-2014 10:46 PM in reply to: martijnvremmerden

im not sure if this is posible, can u post a photo of your logo?

is it hard to re-draw it in inventor so you can extrude it?

greets from holland!

Member
martijnvremmerden
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-11-2014
Message 3 of 7 (167 Views)

Re: adding depth in a picture

02-11-2014 10:49 PM in reply to: raveruben

Njiua

this is the logo

Active Contributor
raveruben
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎11-27-2013
Message 4 of 7 (160 Views)

Re: adding depth in a picture

02-11-2014 10:58 PM in reply to: martijnvremmerden
its not the most easy logo to draw in autocad or inventor, but i think there's no other way to get a closed sketch reddy for a extrusion.
so maybe someone els knows a way?
otherwise goodluck with drawing it!
*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,492
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 5 of 7 (160 Views)

Re: adding depth in a picture

02-11-2014 11:05 PM in reply to: martijnvremmerden
Welkom op het forum!

It's not possible to emboss an image file, you can only use those as decall.

Your logo doesn't seem too hard to trace, but you could also try using vector software (like illustrator, or the free Inkscape.) to do the tracing for you and saving the file as dwg/dxf.

Hope that helps.

Using IV2014 Pro SP2 - upd.1, Win7-64bit
*Expert Elite*
-niels-
Posts: 1,492
Registered: ‎06-20-2006
Message 6 of 7 (150 Views)

Re: adding depth in a picture

02-12-2014 12:03 AM in reply to: -niels-

I couldn't resist, took some cleanup to get it to work properly and the geometry will not be exactly the same but i hope you can use it.


Using IV2014 Pro SP2 - upd.1, Win7-64bit
Member
martijnvremmerden
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-11-2014
Message 7 of 7 (132 Views)

Re: adding depth in a picture

02-12-2014 01:11 AM in reply to: -niels-

it worked, used inkscape to redraw it. It was easier than expected so I redisigned it for a bit

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.