Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Karol-Or
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Message 1 of 5 (302 Views)

Wrong thread depth in the note

302 Views, 4 Replies
07-15-2013 04:25 AM

In the drawing, i annotate a thread. the automatic text for thread depth is always, as far as i see, incorrect, for example if the thread depth is 50 it writes, i don't remeber, but something like 250.

Maybe it has to do with the font, altough i doubt. i am in israel, and the quantity of threads, also an automatic text, is written backwards, for example 4x instead of x4.

Maybe the added zero ot the depth is somehow related, maybe attached.

 

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,193
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 5 (280 Views)

Re: Wrong thread depth in the note

07-15-2013 06:27 AM in reply to: Karol-Or

Karol,

I have been to Israel.  You have a beautiful country.  Easy to see why it is God's country.

 

In regards to your issue, what standards system are you using?  Can you post some images of your hole settings

and then what you are seeing in your drawing?

If you posted attached files the first time, they didn't come through.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Distinguished Mentor
john.retzlaff
Posts: 896
Registered: ‎11-03-2003
Message 3 of 5 (277 Views)

Re: Wrong thread depth in the note

07-15-2013 06:30 AM in reply to: Karol-Or

Could attach the files?

John Retzlaff
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,945
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 5 (258 Views)

Re: Wrong thread depth in the note

07-15-2013 08:26 AM in reply to: Karol-Or

If you are using a "Drill-Point" type hole, it will give you the "travel-depth" of the drill bit and not just the threads. If you start your hole above the part surface from a work-plane, it will give you the depth from the work-plane as well.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Valued Mentor
Mason-Paul
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎04-04-2012
Message 5 of 5 (226 Views)

Re: Wrong thread depth in the note

07-16-2013 04:23 AM in reply to: Karol-Or

I've had a similar problem with counter bored holes on the inside of a cicular part, where I have had to create a work plane to place them the dimention then measures from the work-plane it was created on and not the actual face

================
Inventor 2014 Pro

HP xw8400 workstation
2 x Xeon duel-core 3Ghz CPU , 32 GB Ram
64bit Windows 7 Pro

AMD FirePro V3900 (ATI FireGL) (1GB RAM)
=================
Ashington Northumberland (UK) ~ Home to the WORLD FAMOUS Pitman Painters Group

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube