Inventor General Discussion

Active Contributor
-ianf-
Message 1 of 12 (741 Views)

Using ilogic to fill out Iproperties

741 Views, 11 Replies
01-30-2012 06:18 AM

So, I'm new to ilogic. My goal is to use basic ilogic to fill in some of the standard iproperty fields from parameters.

I have so far managed to populate the description iproperty with one value from the parameters using this ilogic code;

iProperties.Value("Project","Description") = length

where length is a user parameter.

Want I would like to do is build on this to include more parameters such as material thickness, width and depth etc so the resulting iproperty description field would read something like

1.2mm SS 50x100 @3000

How do I go about writing the ilogic string to include multiple values and end up filling in the one description field?

Thanks.

Ian Farmery
Inventor 2010 Pro SP4, Vault Collaboration 2010
HP Z820 Xeon E5-2643 0 @ 3.3Ghz 16.0GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 5000
Distinguished Contributor
Breeze104
Message 2 of 12 (738 Views)

Re: Using ilogic to fill out Iproperties

01-30-2012 06:44 AM in reply to: -ianf-

To answer your question...if I understand it

All you should have to do is add the lines of code (like the one you already have) you want to the begining of your rule. And then start you rule definitions.  Something like this....

iProperties.Value("Project", "Project") = HopperType
iProperties.Material = "Steel, Mild"
InventorVb.DocumentUpdate(True)
iProperties.PartColor = "Red (Flat)"

I would like to add the question... How do you get the "Project" field filled, since there is no iProperties snippet for that.  I was able to get it done when I only had 1 rule but as I added rules (using the same bit of code) it doesn't follow through.

*Expert Elite*
mcgyvr
Message 3 of 12 (731 Views)

01-30-2012 07:08 AM in reply to: -ianf-

How do I go about writing the ilogic string to include multiple values and end up filling in the one description field?

Thanks.