Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
marcel3113
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-18-2003
Message 1 of 8 (290 Views)

Units of Measure

290 Views, 7 Replies
06-21-2013 09:18 AM

Is it possible to change the units of measure in the iProperties from lbmass to tons for instance? I deal with very large, heavy concrete objects and tons is the way we show mass.  Also use cubic yards instead of cubic inches.

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,471
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 2 of 8 (281 Views)

Re: Units of Measure

06-21-2013 09:38 AM in reply to: marcel3113

Here is where you can change units. I believe that volume is based on the length setting, however there isn't yards or tons. I don't think it's possible to add it.

 

Capture.PNG

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Contributor
marcel3113
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-18-2003
Message 3 of 8 (275 Views)

Re: Units of Measure

06-21-2013 09:48 AM in reply to: mrattray

Thank you for the help.  Definitely doesn't look like you can add different categories in there.  But very helpful.  Do you know if there is some way in a parts list to create a custom column and convert the lbsmass to some other mass unit?

*Pro
jletcher
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎05-18-2011
Message 4 of 8 (269 Views)

Re: Units of Measure

06-21-2013 10:01 AM in reply to: marcel3113

You can use ilogic to convert then link it to a custom property..


Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

James Letcher
2012 Factory Design Suite ( will not load 2013)
What happen to my Inventor :-(
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,471
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 5 of 8 (260 Views)

Re: Units of Measure

06-21-2013 10:19 AM in reply to: jletcher
Exactly what I was about to suggest.
Create a numeric user parameter, check export, and then create a rule. Paste this into the rule:
mass = iProperties.Mass/2000
Where "mass" is the name of the parameter you created earlier.
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Contributor
marcel3113
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-18-2003
Message 6 of 8 (243 Views)

Re: Units of Measure

06-21-2013 12:06 PM in reply to: mrattray

Sorry, I am new to this.  Here is what I did.  I created a user parameter called mass and checked Export Parameter.  I created a rule that is as you mentioned, mass = iProperties.Mass/2000.  I called the rule mass conversion.

 

In the new user parameter that i created I have the following questions:

 

1. Should this rule be in the part or assembly?

2. What should the units be (ul)?

3. What should the equation be?

 

The Driving Rule is showing the "mass conversion" rule I created.

 

Once I get this correct, how do i get the information to show up in the parts list, if you can get it to that is?

 

Thanks for your help and your patience with us new comers.

 

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,471
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 7 of 8 (238 Views)

Re: Units of Measure

06-21-2013 12:14 PM in reply to: marcel3113
It sounds like you did it correctly.
1) Rule should be in every part you need a non-standard mass in.
2) Units doesn't matter. I used UL when I tested the line.
3) The equation is irrelevant; anything you change it to will be immediately overridden by the rule.

You need to edit your parts list by double clicking it. Activate the column chooser and add a mass column (if you don't have one already). RMB on the column header (for the mass column) and click "format column". Somewhere on that menu (you may have to switch tabs) is a "enable value substitution" check box. Check it and under the drop down set it to your "mass" property that you created. Once you've done this, any part that you have added this rule to should show mass in tons, any part without the rule should show mass in pounds.
No lack of patience here, in fact I would be more social if I wasn't trying to get this drawing done...
Welcome to the forums, by the way.
Mike (not Matt) Rattray

Contributor
marcel3113
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-18-2003
Message 8 of 8 (212 Views)

Re: Units of Measure

06-21-2013 02:42 PM in reply to: mrattray

Does this work with iParts or just standard parts?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube