Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to alter linked parameter in an assembly

24 REPLIES 24
SOLVED
Message 1 of 25
nstalker
2539 Views, 24 Replies

Unable to alter linked parameter in an assembly

I have created a multi-value parameter in a part and exported it.  I then linked it in the assembly but I am unable to edit it.  I tried using iLogic but it also does not alter the part.  Please see the attached 3 jpegs.  I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I have been combing the discussion boards but I am unable to find an answer to my problem.  I'm certain that it just has to do with me not correctly understanding ilogic and parameters.  This is my first attempt at using them outside the tutorials.

24 REPLIES 24
Message 2 of 25
johnsonshiue
in reply to: nstalker

Hi! If I understand this workflow correctly, the parameter source is in the part, not in the assembly ,right? If so, the linked parameter in the assembly will strictly follow the parameter value in the part. Any live linked parameter cannot be changed.

If you want to change the parameter value, you should create User Parameter instead.

Thanks!

Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Software Test Engineer
Message 3 of 25
nstalker
in reply to: johnsonshiue

how do you use a user parameter in an assembly to alter a part?

Message 4 of 25
johnsonshiue

There are multiple ways to achieve it. Here are a few that are commonly used in terms of parameters linking.

Option A: On the Parameters table in the part, link to the iam file. The exported assembly parameters will appear in the part.

Option B: Create an Excel table with all the parameters you would like to control. Then link it to the assembly and link it to the part. So you can drive the parameter from the Excel table.

Let me know if it works for you.

Thanks!