Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Total noob - how do I change parameters on component instances in assembly?

16 REPLIES 16
Message 1 of 17
jeffcarson
1049 Views, 16 Replies

Total noob - how do I change parameters on component instances in assembly?

Going through the iLogic tutorial I have a part called "bracket" which has a multi-value parameter "mass" which can be 100, 200, 300, or 400 and controls the width of the bracket.

I have an assembly into which I have placed thee brackets.

How do I set different parameters for each of the instances of "bracket"?  I want one bracket with mass = 100, one with mass = 200, and one with mass = 300, such that I have three brackets of different widths.

Sorry this is such a newbie question, but somehow I can't figure it out, and I must not be searching on the right text in Google because I find only ways to change the value of the parameter within the core component (such that all brackets change and end up the same width).

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
JDMather
in reply to: jeffcarson

Sketch1 is not constrained or placed at a logical location in reference to the origin.

I recommend you start here http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/SkillsUSA%20University.pdf

before moving on to topics like iLogic.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 17
jeffcarson
in reply to: JDMather

?

If you are complaining about the bracket, it is taken directly from the Autodesk tutorial.  All I did was place it in an assembly.

Or are you saying I cannot change parameters on components unless the sketch is in a particular location?!?