Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

To be able to twist and sweep a profile along a spline

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
SrinathSibi
1591 Views, 2 Replies

To be able to twist and sweep a profile along a spline

Hello,

I am quite new to the inventor society and am stuck on a problem. My task is to model a twisted rope and for that i need to twist and sweep a certain profile ( please see attached jpg for a rough idea of the profile ) at the same time along a spline path. Inventor is unable to accept the spline path as axis for a coil feature. 

One possible solution was to use sweep with a guide rail , and for the guide rail we would have to use a helix wrapped around said spline. 

Can anyone suggest a method to either simultaneously sweep and twist a profile, or to be able to wrap a helix around a spline in inventor? I have attached a picture of the required helix too.

Thank you in advance for any replies,

Srinath

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
JDMather
in reply to: SrinathSibi

I would use a texture rather than actually model the twisted tri-lobe. 

By the time you back up a bit it will look the same.

Much easier and smaller file size.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 3
PaulMunford
in reply to: SrinathSibi

I don't think that you can helix around a spline in Inventor, I would be happy to hear from anyone who knows how!