Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tapered Pipe Pattern to a Flat Pattern Sheet Metal

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
ryan
3046 Views, 13 Replies

Tapered Pipe Pattern to a Flat Pattern Sheet Metal

I am completely new to Inventor.  I have done the bottle tutorial and before that I used Inventor in HS for about 2 weeks.  I have done a couple small projects on it but nothing major.

I am trying to "unwrap" a pipe to a flat pattern for something that would be burnt out of flat sheet.

Here's what I've done so far:

- Made a 2D sketch of the profile of the pipe sidewall.

- Revolved that around the center of the pipe to create an 8" O.D. x .25" sidewall x 4" lg. pipe (this part appears exactly how I wanted it)

- I mitered each end of the pipe @ 1" to create a wedge (or a piece of pie) type-shape.  My part is now looking exactly like I need to look when complete.

- I cut a 1/16" sliver out of the pipe @ the short side of the pipe (2" lg. side after miters) to create something that could actually be "unwrapped" into a flat sheet.

This is where I run into problems:

- I select the inside face of the pipe

- Click "Create Flat Pattern"

- I get the attached error message in the photo.

I have attached a picture of the error message I am getting.  In the pic, you can also see my model (with rust finish on, looks nice) and the sliver that I have cut out at the top.

My question, what do I do from here to see the inside face of this pipe as a flat pattern capable of being burnt outo f sheet metal?

(Inventor 2013)

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
JDMather
in reply to: ryan

Here is one technique

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional