Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Style Library Intent

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
TheRham
407 Views, 5 Replies

Style Library Intent

I'm largely self-taught on Inventor, and I've come a long way in the last 4 years.  However, this comes with it's own pitfalls, and I kinda think I may have fell into one... a little one, but I'd like to get out of it, or at least understand it better.

I'm not understanding the PURPOSE or INTENT of the Style Library.  What we did here, is we defined our styles (dimension styles, layer styles... so on) in a template file, and we all basically use the same template.  Now, I understand how to save these to the style library, and I've resolved all the error messages... this is not exactly one of those kind of threads.

My question is, what is the point of the style library?  What is the advantage of having this style library, rather than simply defining styles in a shared template file?

What do YOU do when you get a new release of Inventor?  Do you migrate all your old styles from the previous style library to the new one, or do you redefine the new style library w/ your company standards?  Also, "why" do you do whatever you do?

What I have done (for better or for worse), is I basically go into the Style Library Manager, and blow it out... delete the existing styles, then open the old template, migrate it to 2013, and that way, avoid any style conflicts.  This method seems more cumbersome than it should be, and is probably horrible for some reason.  Dear God, what have I done? /screamofanguish

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Curtis_Waguespack
in reply to: TheRham

Hi TheRham, 

The big difference between template controled styles and style libraries is the ability to push changes to styles out to existing drawings.