Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
7997redtail
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-11-2013
Message 1 of 3 (203 Views)
Accepted Solution

Student has messed up the browser language so how can i ........

203 Views, 2 Replies
01-11-2013 10:38 AM

 

 

 

A student has stumped me but not with something cool or exciting.  He has changed a custom feature and I can’t figure out how he did it.  It also brings up another thought about a better way to fix this kind of problem because I am sure to have many more like it.  Here goes.

 

The student has changed the language of his inventor 2013 browser to show another language.  I think it is dingbats or something similar.  This change is only affecting the browser and the “Applications Options” dialogue box. (this also means I can't read the text in the options box) I am sure there are other areas but strangely all the ribbons are still in English.  Thoughts?

 

I started to look at just copying the INI file from a working computer to overwrite his ini file but can't find it.  Or, is that a bad idea and there is a better way?  In the first paragraph I mentioned a better way to fix this kind of problem.  With our last version (V 14 ??) AutoCAD I would just replace the default drawing first and if that didn't work I would replace the INI. 

 

So any suggestions on how he did this and a good method to overwrite setup files that might fix similar problems? 

 

BTW, I have had his profile deleted but it didn't change anything and he can log into another computer and the files are fine.  So it is a setup feature of the one computer.

 

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 728
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 2 of 3 (186 Views)

Re: Student has messed up the browser language so how can i ........

01-11-2013 11:59 AM in reply to: 7997redtail

 

See where the font is in my picture below?  Change that to something else.  Even if you can't read what the font name says, chances are very good that no matter what you change it to will at least be in a readable language.  Once you can read it, change it back to Arial or whatever font you like.  Note the position of the Apply button in the menu - that's the button you'll want to click.

 

You shouldn't need to change the .INI files or anything ...

 

 

 

 

 

app options.JPG


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Member
7997redtail
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-11-2013
Message 3 of 3 (181 Views)

Re: Student has messed up the browser language so how can i ........

01-11-2013 12:12 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

LT. Rusty your awesome.  I just told the student that did this that he owes you a beer.  Unfortunatly, he is only 15 so you might have to wait a few years. :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube