Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Struggling with Sweep command

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
jdexter
4169 Views, 10 Replies

Struggling with Sweep command

When I try to sweep a circle along the curve in the attached file, it only goes round the first curve and I can't find a way to persuade it to go further. I created the curve by drawing parallel straight lines and joining them with circles before trimming. Automatic dimensioning does not show any errors. I am trying to end up with a representation of a 'serpent' musical instrument which is a tapered tube - the end circles in the sketch being the relevant dimensions of each end - a taper of about -2.064 degrees from the wider end. I cannot find anything amongst the tutorials or forums that seem to be relevant. I am somewhat new to Inventor though quite experienced in Autocad. Help would be much appreciated - thanks.

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
blair
in reply to: jdexter

1.) Looking at your file, you are starting with a small circle profile and hoping to end with a larger circle profile. This can't be done with a Sweep, as it only uses a single profile for the shape and then a path. You should be looking at the Loft command.

2.) You have a sketch problem where your path stops at the end of your 244.509 radius to the 57.6 line segment. If you zoom you will see a problem with the end of the arc and start of the line. The arc attaches to the line not at the beginning of the line, but at a distance 2 units from the line end.

Inventor 2020, In-Cad, Simulation Mechanical

Just insert the picture rather than attaching it as a file
Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.
Delta Tau Chi ΔΤΧ

Message 3 of 11
jdexter
in reply to: blair