Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stress Analysis on a Wheel

18 REPLIES 18
SOLVED
Message 1 of 19
Anonymous
5717 Views, 18 Replies

Stress Analysis on a Wheel

I am a Teacher for a High School Design Drawing and Productions class, and am going to integrate a module to an existing lesson plan. The concept would be to have the students take 2 of there already 5 made wheels/rims and put them in the stress analysis feature of Inventor. I want them to be able to set it up as real to life as possible and based on my research it should be as followed...

goodyear_fig.gif

Problem: Setting up the parabola to span the 80° within the parametric design of Inventor.

Here is my current setup: Please inform me if you think it would be better to have it different.

Material: Aluminum 6061 (probably could be different but this is the least of my worries at this time)

Contraint:

Fixed Constrain Location2.jpg

Loads: Based on the first posted image it is a pressure that is interacting between the centerhub and the 80° span to the bottom. I don't know how to get this span so I have this...

Load-Pressure 500psi on Bead.jpg

Results:

The wheel shifts and rotates because it is not constrained to a plane. In most cases when its attached to a hub/car it would camber out but testing it alone, would have the focus on the connections (spokes) from the center out to the beads of a rim is my understanding.

Video Results:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aX8B784G_3w
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=53AWiXKTDu4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmUUd0bs5aM

I want my results to have the outter rim to be stable, much like like in this video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gWgIVypPFjs

Even though the following  is posted by an engineer, I don't think it is tested like it is in industry