Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stress Analysis on Levees made of dirt or sand

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
galaxydrums
1901 Views, 4 Replies

Stress Analysis on Levees made of dirt or sand

I am a student using Inventor 2013 Professional. I'm working on a project for school comparing levees made of different materials. I've created multiple levees from different materials. I can perform stress analysis on some of the levees, but when I try to do the simulation on levees made with dirt or sand, I get an error stating "Some materials are not defined correctly. Please assign a valid override material in the Assign Materials dialog." Does anyone know how I can create levees with these materials and perform the stress analysis on them like I can with metal and concrete levees?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
JDMather
in reply to: galaxydrums

Probably not a correct use of Inventor (FEA limited to anisotropic materials) but edit your material and assign some relative Yield Strength and other appropriate material properties as needed.  Might be able at least get some comparisons even if not "perfect"

You aren't going to actually build these are you?

Attach your file here if you can't figure it out.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

The CADWhisperer YouTube Channel

EESignature

Message 3 of 5
blair
in reply to: JDMather

The MatWeb site might help with the materials. As JD posted, this in not what Inventor was designed for. Since Inventor doesn't have calculate hydrostatic loads, you would have to use the Split-Surface tool to allow for different loads along your Levy at different heights.