Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sheet Metal Punch Help Please

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
DougDR
693 Views, 12 Replies

Sheet Metal Punch Help Please

Hi everyone

Please help. This is my first run at designing a “sheet metal” punch. The 3 pic’s show ,hopefully, what I need to make the punch for and what I think is right.

At the moment I have designed the punch for a 50mm dia  2mm thick 304 stainless steel disc . I have not allowed  for stretch.

What should one allow for and do you think the punch design will work ?Foot 2.jpg

Foot 2d.jpg

Foot 2d2.jpg

Doug Davey

Mechanical Designer
12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
jletcher
in reply to: DougDR

I will say no but you say I am not an expert so maybe you want someone else to answer you even though I have 28 years in sheet metal tool and die design..

Message 3 of 13
DougDR
in reply to: jletcher

Oh My goodness ...... 

There was no way I thought you were not an expert. I just wanted to go with the process that was being offered to me. I am sorry if you thought I implied that you where not an expert. I hope you will forgive me .... there was no intent implied. Sorry again

Doug Davey

Mechanical Designer
Message 4 of 13
DougDR

Hi James Letcher

God I feel bad .......... Please come back

Doug Davey

Mechanical Designer
Message 5 of 13
mcgyvr

Are you asking about developing just the inventor ide portion of the punch or the actual physical tool for producing that part? I'm not sure i saw a real question in there.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor 2023 - Dell Precision 5570

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept Solution button below.
Maybe buy me a beer through Venmo @mcgyvr1269
Message 6 of 13
DougDR
in reply to: mcgyvr