Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
daulj
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
Message 1 of 8 (338 Views)

Rule to rename newly placed iLogic assemblies

338 Views, 7 Replies
01-09-2013 07:07 AM

I'm running Invenor 2013 and I'm trying to figure out a way to rename my components from an iLogic assembly when placed in a new assembly.

 

Right now when I start a new assembly, then place an iLogic component it names everything "Part-01," Part1-01" and so on for all of the variable components.

 

What I'd like to do is write a rule that when placing my iLogic component it will name it based on the filename of the new assembly that I've created. "Part-New Assmebly," "Part1-New Assembly" and so on.

 

Has anyone out there done this. I'm looking for some sample code that can make this happen! 

Contributor
reginaldmb
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-18-2013
Message 2 of 8 (303 Views)

Re: Rule to rename newly placed iLogic assemblies

02-18-2013 11:34 PM in reply to: daulj

YES PLEASE,  I am also looking for an answer to this.  Any PRO out there please?

Employee
MjDeck
Posts: 959
Registered: ‎02-24-2009
Message 3 of 8 (292 Views)

Re: Rule to rename newly placed iLogic assemblies

02-19-2013 10:17 PM in reply to: reginaldmb

It should be possible to do this with a custom add-in (written in VB or C#). But I don't have any sample code.



Mike Deck
Software Developer
DLS - Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
reginaldmb
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-18-2013
Message 4 of 8 (283 Views)

Re: Rule to rename newly placed iLogic assemblies

02-20-2013 05:42 AM in reply to: daulj

Thank you for the reply! That is quite a pity...hope Autodesk will work on that!

Contributor
reginaldmb
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-18-2013
Message 5 of 8 (262 Views)

Re: Rule to rename newly placed iLogic assemblies

03-12-2013 02:38 AM in reply to: MjDeck

Hi! Do you perhaps know someone who would know how to program the coding for this?

Distinguished Contributor
Carthik_Babu
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
Message 6 of 8 (213 Views)

Re: Rule to rename newly placed iLogic assemblies

06-12-2013 05:19 AM in reply to: reginaldmb
check out this link, hope it will be useful
http://beinginventive.typepad.com/being-inventive/2010/04/replacing-and-renaming-components-in-an-as...

http://beinginventive.typepad.com/files/file-rename-with-inventor-ilogic-2.flv
Carthik Babu M.S, Asst Manager - Machine Building,
Gabriel India Ltd,Hosur, TN, INDIA
Email:carthik.ms@gabriel.co.in ,
https://grabcad.com/carthik-1/projects
"May all beings be happy" http://www.dhamma.org/
Distinguished Contributor
Carthik_Babu
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎01-29-2013
Message 7 of 8 (212 Views)

Re: Rule to rename newly placed iLogic assemblies

06-12-2013 05:21 AM in reply to: reginaldmb
The below link give idea of renaming all component (it meant for renaming solid bodies in a component)
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.in/2012/02/ilogic-to-rename-all-solid-bodies.html
Carthik Babu M.S, Asst Manager - Machine Building,
Gabriel India Ltd,Hosur, TN, INDIA
Email:carthik.ms@gabriel.co.in ,
https://grabcad.com/carthik-1/projects
"May all beings be happy" http://www.dhamma.org/
Mentor
tsreagan
Posts: 239
Registered: ‎07-02-2012
Message 8 of 8 (196 Views)

Re: Rule to rename newly placed iLogic assemblies

06-12-2013 07:25 AM in reply to: Carthik_Babu

Here ya go.

 

Needs Minimal Modification.

Browser nodes should be named by "Default" for this to show,  untill you add part number or file name code.

 

 

T.S.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.