Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Kevin_Raymond
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 1 of 8 (264 Views)

Retrieve Assembly Feature Dimensions?

264 Views, 7 Replies
08-13-2012 11:59 AM

I have tried to research this problem to no avail.

 

I am trying to retrieve dimensions from an assembly. The features that I want were created in the assembly itself, not on the original parts in the assembly. I can manually dimension some of the features, but there are others that I need to retrieve. When I retrieve dimensions from the assembly, I am only given the original dimensions for the parts.

 

Thanks in advance.

Employee
johnsonshiue
Posts: 1,964
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Message 2 of 8 (261 Views)

Re: Retrieve Assembly Feature Dimensions?

08-13-2012 12:14 PM in reply to: Kevin_Raymond

Hi! I must not have followed the workflow correctly. Somehow I am not seeing the behavior you are describing here. I am able to retrieve dimensions associated with assembly features.

In the Retreive Dimensions dialog, did you choose "Select Features" option in "Select Source"? Or it is set to "Select Parts" by default?

Thanks!

 



Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Principal SQA Engineer, Inventor
Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
Kevin_Raymond
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 3 of 8 (257 Views)

Re: Retrieve Assembly Feature Dimensions?

08-13-2012 12:39 PM in reply to: johnsonshiue

I may not have explained my problem well.

 

I have an assembly of two parts. As an example, if I were to create a 2D sketch in the assembly and then make a revolved cut, I cannot retrieve those dimensions. The only dimensions that I  can retrieve are the dimensions of the parts as they were when I first placed them in the assembly. I have tried the "Select Features" option, but it is not giving me different results.

Employee
johnsonshiue
Posts: 1,964
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Message 4 of 8 (253 Views)

Re: Retrieve Assembly Feature Dimensions?

08-13-2012 12:52 PM in reply to: Kevin_Raymond

Hi! Do you mind posting the simple dataset you are having trouble retreiving dimensions from? I can take a quick look and see where the exact problem is.

Thanks!

 



Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Principal SQA Engineer, Inventor
Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
Kevin_Raymond
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 5 of 8 (246 Views)

Re: Retrieve Assembly Feature Dimensions?

08-13-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: johnsonshiue

I have attached some sample files.

 

In the example, I assembled parts A and B to create Assembly C. In the assembly, I went to the "Model" tab and created a 2D sketch. I then revolved that sketch to make a revolved cut. I placed the assembly into Drawing D, which shows the modified assembly. However, retrieving dimensions does not allow me to retrieve the dimensions from that revolved cut.

 

I can't seem to add more than three files, so I will attach the drawing in my next post.

Contributor
Kevin_Raymond
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 6 of 8 (245 Views)

Re: Retrieve Assembly Feature Dimensions?

08-13-2012 01:36 PM in reply to: Kevin_Raymond

Attached is the drawing.

Employee
johnsonshiue
Posts: 1,964
Registered: ‎04-30-2008
Message 7 of 8 (240 Views)

Re: Retrieve Assembly Feature Dimensions?

08-13-2012 02:20 PM in reply to: Kevin_Raymond

Hi! Thank you for providing the files! Indeed, Retrieve Dimensions on assembly features does not seem to work in the same way as on part features. I am forwarding this issue to development for review.

Thanks!

 



Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Principal SQA Engineer, Inventor
Mechanical Design
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
petestrycharske
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎09-10-2012
Message 8 of 8 (177 Views)

Re: Retrieve Assembly Feature Dimensions?

12-18-2012 08:16 AM in reply to: johnsonshiue

We were able to retrieve some assembly feature dimensions (haven't tried it on anything other than a pattern of hole features), by changing the parameter settings.  In the assembly model open the Parameters dialog box and place a check mark in the "Export" check box for every dimension that you might want to retrieve.  Couldn't get it to work for constraint offset dimensions, but let us know if this process works for your assembly features.  Have a most blessed day!

 

Peace,

Pete

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube