Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
JazzJPH
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-26-2010
Message 11 of 14 (274 Views)

Re: Retaining Developed Length on Flexible Cable Tray - Adaptivity?

03-15-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: RayFeiler

RayFeiler wrote:

This will work if you rebuild your model with the extrusions normal to the direction of adaptability. With this method you can change Mate1 in my example but you cannot drive it. Sorry I can only upload IV2012 data.


Driving it is what I need for this assembly.  I appreciate the method you have used though.  

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Inventor 2012

Windows 7 64-Bit SP1

Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5570 @ 2.93GHz

NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800 (Avail. Graphics Memory 4067MB - Ded. 1024 MB)

12 GB RAM
Valued Mentor
RayFeiler
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 12 of 14 (271 Views)

Re: Retaining Developed Length on Flexible Cable Tray - Adaptivity?

03-15-2012 09:27 AM in reply to: JazzJPH

I have tried a few other methods but none of them would allow me to drive the adaptive part. Does anyone know if this is possible inside of Inventor?

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2014 64-Bit

Sometimes you just need a good old reboot.
*Expert Elite*
harco
Posts: 879
Registered: ‎02-16-2006
Message 13 of 14 (254 Views)

Re: Retaining Developed Length on Flexible Cable Tray - Adaptivity?

03-15-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: JazzJPH

edit

Apologies, I've just re-read you post and you have done as I suggested.

Can't explain why it would work in one assembly but not in another,all things being equal.

So ignore the following.

 

 

 

You have done all the work.

One edit is needed to make it drive.

1. Delete origin to curve centre constraint.

2. Constrain end point of cable to origin.

3. Drive flush constraint between block parts, with adaptivity ticked on.

Done.

 

1

 

2

 

3

Active Contributor
JazzJPH
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-26-2010
Message 14 of 14 (237 Views)

Re: Retaining Developed Length on Flexible Cable Tray - Adaptivity?

03-16-2012 02:09 AM in reply to: harco

Thank you so much! 

 

That was the reason why it didn't work in the sliding doors, I used a "Mate" instead of a "Flush" constraint! I can't believe that a flush will work where a mate doesn't, it's quite confusing!

 

But that's great, thank you so much.

 

And everyone else who contributed, all the other posts helped me too!

 

Thanks everyone! Hopefully this will be a good example for people to read through in the future.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Inventor 2012

Windows 7 64-Bit SP1

Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5570 @ 2.93GHz

NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800 (Avail. Graphics Memory 4067MB - Ded. 1024 MB)

12 GB RAM

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube