Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
cmcconnell
Posts: 236
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 11 of 16 (247 Views)

Re: Resetting first Sketch to Sketch1 in Template

08-23-2013 05:57 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

This has been an issue sine r4 when I started on Inventor. I have just gotten used to all my parts starting at sketch 7. It has been talked about a fair bit over the years, and like you say, there isn't a solution, other than creating a template from scratch.

Mechanix Design Solutions inc.
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,471
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 12 of 16 (242 Views)

Re: Resetting first Sketch to Sketch1 in Template

08-23-2013 06:21 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Cadmanto wrote:
...when I used that part template, I got the same results.  Sketch3 with extrusion1.

So I guess the conclusion is in 2012 these do reset themselves.



I think you mean "these do not reset themselves"?

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,198
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 13 of 16 (237 Views)

Re: Resetting first Sketch to Sketch1 in Template

08-23-2013 06:39 AM in reply to: mrattray

I see your point.  I said what I said because it was always starting with sketch3 and extrusion1.  Not sure why it starts with sketch3.

I have posted an idea to address this discrepancy.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Inventor-IdeaStation/Feature-sketch-Numbers-Reset-Ability/idi-p/437834...

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Active Member
jcrilly
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 14 of 16 (219 Views)

Re: Resetting first Sketch to Sketch1 in Template

08-23-2013 07:40 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Thanks for looking into this Scott & Mike.

Hopefully this is something that can be resolved down the line at some point.

 

~Jonathan

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,198
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 15 of 16 (202 Views)

Re: Resetting first Sketch to Sketch1 in Template

08-23-2013 08:59 AM in reply to: jcrilly

Jonathan,

No problem.  Sorry there is not a better answer for you.

Feel free to go to the idea link I provided in my last posting and cast your kudo vote for this.

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Employee
steven.dennis
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎10-23-2007
Message 16 of 16 (193 Views)

Re: Resetting first Sketch to Sketch1 in Template

08-23-2013 09:28 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

I just asked for some comments on the idea station thread. Please go there to comment.

We are now gravitating towards idea station for new idea discussions.  We are actively monitoring it for future releases.

 

 



Steve Dennis
Sr. Principal Engineer
Inventor
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube