Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor JM.
Valued Contributor
JM.
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 1 of 3 (163 Views)
Accepted Solution

Representations BOM

163 Views, 2 Replies
11-07-2013 12:12 PM

Is there some way to do a BOM based on a representation?  Also how do I get sub-assemblies to show as the individual parts?

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,192
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 2 of 3 (143 Views)

Re: Representations BOM

11-07-2013 01:48 PM in reply to: JM.

The answer to your first question is "No".  You are better off creating a factory file.  The parts list can be represented for each member of the factory iassembly.

 

Second question is if you go here "Tools" tab of your sub assembly change the setting as follows.

BM.JPG

 

check.PNGIf this solved your issue please mark this posting "Accept as Solution".

Or if you like something that was said and it was helpful, Kudoskudos.PNG are appreciated. Thanks!!!! :smileyvery-happy:

 

New EE Logo.PNG

Inventor.PNG     vault.PNG

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 864
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 3 of 3 (137 Views)

Re: Representations BOM

11-07-2013 02:03 PM in reply to: JM.

Assuming that by "BOM" you mean a Parts List on a drawing (Bill of Material refers to something else in Inventor), there is a way (sort of), if the representation is a View Rep.

 

In your parts list, click Filter Settings.  You'll be able to pick an Assembly View Representation as one of your possible filters, and it will only show parts that are visible in that View Representation.

 

However, it will not update quantities (there is a warning in the dialog box that explains this fact as well).  If you have 20 bolts in an assembly, but only have 2 visible in the filter View Rep, the quantity will still show 20.  It will only filter if all instances are being removed.

 

So, it depends on your situation whether this will work or not.  If you are removing all of the like components in the View Rep, it could work.  If you are only removing a portion of them, it will only make things more confusing.  If you are doing a partial removal, you will probably need to use Cadmanto's suggestion of an iAssembly (factory).

John Tyler
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 64 Bit

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube