Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Lilledal, Ole Christer
Message 1 of 11 (70 Views)

RE SoftQuadro4

70 Views, 10 Replies
11-21-2002 03:46 PM
When I'm doing this to my GF4 MX420 it appears as a Quadro 200/400NVS.
Is it possible for me to get this to appear as a Quadro 700XGL / 550XGL??

TIA

Ole Christer
*Bjornes, Jorgen
Message 2 of 11 (70 Views)

Re: RE SoftQuadro4

11-21-2002 04:54 PM in reply to: *Lilledal, Ole Christer
No, thats an entirely different chip.
By the way, what do diagnostics in the hardware-tab report? GeForce or
Quadro?


Jorgen

"Ole Christer Lilledal" skrev i melding
news:EC0E515A591860CAA75CBAE0EC8A4E5D@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> When I'm doing this to my GF4 MX420 it appears as a Quadro 200/400NVS.
> Is it possible for me to get this to appear as a Quadro 700XGL / 550XGL??
>
> TIA
>
> Ole Christer
>
>
*Lilledal, Ole Christer
Message 3 of 11 (70 Views)

Re:

11-21-2002 05:16 PM in reply to: *Lilledal, Ole Christer
It comes up with a Quadro 200/400NVS card. This is primerly for 2D cad and
for two screen solutions.
Not what i hoped for and it seems to be slower and performing poorer than
the original GeForce4 MX420.


"Jorgen Bjornes" wrote in message
news:CE7C7A5C5C0ED261BDC139718BD84A57@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> No, thats an entirely different chip.
> By the way, what do diagnostics in the hardware-tab report? GeForce or
> Quadro?
>
>
> Jorgen
>
> "Ole Christer Lilledal" skrev i melding
> news:EC0E515A591860CAA75CBAE0EC8A4E5D@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > When I'm doing this to my GF4 MX420 it appears as a Quadro 200/400NVS.
> > Is it possible for me to get this to appear as a Quadro 700XGL /
550XGL??
> >
> > TIA
> >
> > Ole Christer
> >
> >
>
>
Active Contributor
loop29
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-21-2003
Message 4 of 11 (70 Views)

Re:

11-21-2002 07:19 PM in reply to: *Lilledal, Ole Christer
But it´s working correctly, I don´t think that it is slower in CAD applications, that would be a complete turnaround on what it was supposed to do. Try to have some benchmarks and see if that proofs. The best solution is getting a GF4 Ti 4200 and then change it to Quadro 4 700 XGL, I posted all the types of chips before in this forum where you can see what professional GPU your mainstream card will become when using SQ4.
Distinguished Contributor
rllthomas
Posts: 2,068
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 5 of 11 (70 Views)

Re:

11-22-2002 08:41 AM in reply to: *Lilledal, Ole Christer
Has anyone seen any benchmark improvements from the softquadro? I did this with my Ti4200 and it didn't make a huge difference other than I assume I can have 10 opengl accelerated windows open now. I went from a max 7.8 fps to about 8 which is better but not a HUGE difference. Must be those 426000 triangles in my model :smileysad: - Rich
*Weake, Matthew
Message 6 of 11 (70 Views)

Re:

11-24-2002 08:38 AM in reply to: *Lilledal, Ole Christer
I tried it on a 4400 with the 29.42 driver. As a
Geforce the cursor always had a little circle on it. With SoftQuadro it seemed
to behave about the same as a 750XGL.. I never get more than about 6 windows
open as i can't remember what they are all for so i don't care about the
limit of 10.  Haven't seen any odd graphics issues with
SoftQuadro.

 

What i am mystified by is how i got the Softquadro
to work. I tried to follow instructions but when it didn't work i tried lots of
stuff in what seemed like random order and then it worked!

 

Good solution for home or non-critical usage of
Inventor. I wouldn't use it in a commercial situation as i think our time is too
valuable to save just a few bucks - better to stick to the real
thing.

 

My 2c worth.

 

Regards

Matthew

 

 


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Has
anyone seen any benchmark improvements from the softquadro? I did this with my
Ti4200 and it didn't make a huge difference other than I assume I can have 10
opengl accelerated windows open now. I went from a max 7.8 fps to about 8
which is better but not a HUGE difference. Must be those 426000 triangles in
my model :smileysad: - Rich
Distinguished Contributor
rllthomas
Posts: 2,068
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 7 of 11 (70 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 12:15 AM in reply to: *Lilledal, Ole Christer
I ditched the softquadro, I was getting occaisional lockups with Half-Life. It could be because I used the latest drivers with the Softquadro and reverted back to some older drivers so I am not comparing apples to apples but my lockups disappeared when I reverted back to older non-patched drivers.

And yes this was my home machine - I would never ever ever play games at work! - Rich Thomas
*Fulks, Ashley
Message 8 of 11 (70 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 02:12 AM in reply to: *Lilledal, Ole Christer
I quote:

 

So what is a Quadro, Quadro2 MXR or Quadro2 Pro videocard ?
Very simple it's a professional workstation graphics card that speeds up the
performance in professional applications like 3D Studio Max & Maya.
The only differences between Quadro and GeForce are amount
of onboard video memory, higher clock frequencies and device IDs. NVIDIA
Detonator drivers use device ID to detect Quadro. Detonators use ID-based
algorithm to compute internal driver capability code. OpenGL driver uses this
code to select optimization strategy and disable some hardware capabilities on
non-Quadro boards (e.g. hardware accelerated antialiased lines).

 


 

The NVStrap or "SoftQuadro" has to be done right to
get the desired results. Do not expect a large increase in performance because
you are not changing the core specs of the NV25 chip. NVStrap does not change
the clock speed, or memory speed, which is required for a increase in
performance. There are some things that software cannot fix, because the Quadro
card does have a little more hardware than the Geforce, but the essential cores
are the same, so you cannot expect much (or any) performance increase from a
software driver swap and NVStrap driver switch.

 

--

 


Thanks,

 

Ashley Fulks
Project Manager
Nisku Computer Solutions Corp.

href="http://www.nisku.ca">www.nisku.ca

(780) 955-0255

 

-----------------------

 

 

style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Has
anyone seen any benchmark improvements from the softquadro? I did this with my
Ti4200 and it didn't make a huge difference other than I assume I can have 10
opengl accelerated windows open now. I went from a max 7.8 fps to about 8
which is better but not a HUGE difference. Must be those 426000 triangles in
my model :smileysad: - Rich
Distinguished Contributor
rllthomas
Posts: 2,068
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 9 of 11 (70 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 08:24 AM in reply to: *Lilledal, Ole Christer
I was hoping the ability to utilize NV1X OpenGL instruction sets would optimize 2 sided lighting and make my Ford work like a Ferrari, it didn't happen :smileysad: An excellent article with benchmarks was already posted, I think by John Bilton, earlier that details some of this. http://nvworld.ru/docs/sq4e.html

- Rich
Active Contributor
loop29
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎11-21-2003
Message 10 of 11 (70 Views)

Re:

11-25-2002 07:42 PM in reply to: *Lilledal, Ole Christer
rllthomas, you shouldn´t use Softquadro with your gaming rig, I think there is no need to explain why : )
There is performance difference in Quadro and Geforce and you can see those differences in the article mentioned before. That your Half life crashed could be the cause of much other stuff, like the driver you used somehow didn´t worked properly with Half life. Anyway, to see what SQ4 will have effect on specific applications from the results on SpecViewPerformance benchmarks is hard to tell. You should know if your application uses some of the OpenGL features that professional cards provide. It is nonsense that there is no performance increase with the SQ4...

regards
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.