Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Publishing family from different part files

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
hector.andres
452 Views, 4 Replies

Publishing family from different part files

Hi everyone,
It's my first time on the autodesk forum, so I'm sorry if I'm not making this question on the right place or maybe there is already a solution out there that I didn't find.
I work in a hydraulic company where we do assemblies with parts of different manufactures. Therefore, I am trying to create my first library on the Content Center, something I have no experience on. My question is: is there a way of publishing a family composed of different part files?
I know I can publish a part or an ipart (which will generate several parts). Most parts of my library are downloaded from the manufacturers. For example, for a check valve component, I have a part for each size model. The best will be to create an ipart of this component with the sizes modifications. But I can't take time for modeling iparts for each component. That's why I downloaded them from the manufacture, who gives you an independent part file for each size of the component, not a single ipart.
Can I then publish a family composed of this part files, selecting them, or is this only available for iparts? Must then I publish each part separately?

Hope someone can understand my question! Thanks in advance to everyone.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
CCarreiras
in reply to: hector.andres

Hi!

If you dont have the iParts, why you doesnt use instead a library folder?

You can place all these parts in a proper folder, "Library Folder",  and point this folder location on every project as your library content, this folder as a similar behavior as the Content Center, parts are only "Read Only".