Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
cadcamm99
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎04-12-2005
Message 1 of 7 (264 Views)

Prompted Entry + Label

264 Views, 6 Replies
02-09-2012 01:14 PM

I am using Inventor 2012.  I want to put a label with a prompted entry.  So I did this,

 

SCALE: <scale>

 

However, when filling out the symbol it only puts in the scale without the label.  The reason I am doing this is because my text is right justified and I need the label to move with the text.

Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 722
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 2 of 7 (233 Views)

Re: Prompted Entry + Label

02-10-2012 07:23 AM in reply to: cadcamm99
Just curious because I am likely missing something here, are you talking about a view label? Why is the scale prompted entry? Is there a reason you aren't using the scale property?
Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
Distinguished Contributor
cadcamm99
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎04-12-2005
Message 3 of 7 (213 Views)

Re: Prompted Entry + Label

02-16-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: jeanchile

Sorry, I am trying to create a user symbol and I want to put prompted text in the symbol with a label because the text is right justified.  I basically want the label to move with the prompted text.

Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 722
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 4 of 7 (205 Views)

Re: Prompted Entry + Label

02-16-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: cadcamm99

Hmmmmm.... the only way I know to accomplish this would be to type the label in with the prompted entry text each time. I realize this is not a solution it's just the only way I know to accomplish the text moving.

 

Is there a way to establish the length of text for the longest entry you need and just place the label text far enough away to handle all of the different entries? This might make a large gap at the smallest entry though.

 

There are a lot of really smart people on this forum, someone else might have a more elegant solution.

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,870
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 5 of 7 (190 Views)

Re: Prompted Entry + Label

02-17-2012 04:12 AM in reply to: jeanchile

All that's needed is to have two separate text fields in your sketched symbols, one for the label and one for the prompted entry.  We use a sketched symbol that does exactly what you're asking.  You might want to use constraints and dimensions in your sketched symbol to align the two text fields precisely.

Valued Mentor
jeanchile
Posts: 722
Registered: ‎11-10-2009
Message 6 of 7 (179 Views)

Re: Prompted Entry + Label

02-17-2012 08:40 AM in reply to: sbixler

I couldn't get this to work in my tests. If the text entered was longer than the established text box it just wrapped it, not extend the box. How did you constrain them together so that the text box size changed with the longer text? I couldn't get it to work.

Inventor Professional 2013 (SP-2.3), Product Design Suite Ultimate
Desktop: Intel Core i7 3.4GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate SP-1, 64-bit OS, (2) GeForce GTX 580 (331.81), Space Pilot Pro (3.16.1)
Laptop: Intel Core i7 3.9GHz, 16.0 GB RAM, Windows 7 Pro SP-1, 64-bit OS, GeForce GTX 780 (331.81), SpaceNavigator (3.17.7)
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,870
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 7 of 7 (167 Views)

Re: Prompted Entry + Label

02-17-2012 09:54 AM in reply to: jeanchile

Sorry, jeanchile, I was relying too much on memory, didn't re-read the whole thread carefully.  Our sketch symbol has two fixed-size text fields, so it does not need to adjust based on prompted text.  This seems to be impossible in the current version for the reasons you stated.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube