Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Member
david.reynolds
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Message 1 of 6 (353 Views)
Accepted Solution

Problems with 'replace face' command

353 Views, 5 Replies
01-24-2013 01:17 PM

Ok I am having issues with the 'replace face' command. I have attached the part I am talking about. I drew a 2D sketch and engraved/embossed it on the part. Then created a surface that I want to replace the face to. If you look at the part you will understand what I am talking about. Now with the enraving being narrow, it works perfect. As soon as you widen the rectangular sketch to where the emboss takes up more of the part than the original outside OD, it removes all material inside the  created surface.

 

Any experts understand why this is or know how to fix it or get around this issue? I have a part that I need to do this on but the emboss is too wide and it does what I just described.

 

Thanks in advance.

Dave

 

Inventor 2013

David
Employee
wilkhui
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Message 2 of 6 (311 Views)

Re: Problems with 'replace face' command

01-25-2013 03:59 AM in reply to: david.reynolds

Hi and welcome to the forum, Dave!

 

I'm not sure that I'm seeing the behaviour that you describe, would you be able to post a part file with the feature that isn't working as you'd like?

 

Perhaps this is unrelated but the sketch that you have used to Emboss results in non-manifold geometry - is this your intention?

 

Looking forward to your response,

Indy



Inderjeet Wilkhu
SQA Engineer
Autodesk ShapeManager
Design, Lifecycle and Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
david.reynolds
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Message 3 of 6 (297 Views)

Re: Problems with 'replace face' command

01-25-2013 07:00 AM in reply to: wilkhui

I have attached the exact same part and renamed it. The only difference is I made the emboss sketch (sketch 5) wider than before. It seems that instead of replacing the face outwards to the selected surface, it moves the face inwards 'through' the part to the surface removing all material inside the selected surface. I am completely baffled.

 

And this was just a test part to show what I was trying to accomplish. That's the reason I didn't define any of the sketch geometry. This is to eventually be a complex extrusion screw for plastics processing. I tried to upload the actual file that I was working on but it was too large to attach, so I made this test part.

 

Thanks,

 

Dave

David
*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,289
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 6 (288 Views)

Re: Problems with 'replace face' command

01-25-2013 09:57 AM in reply to: david.reynolds

david.reynolds wrote:

 I tried to upload the actual file that I was working on but it was too large to attach, so I made this test part.

 

Dave


Find the red End of Part marker.
Drag the red EOP to the top of the feature tree hiding all features.

Save the file with the EOP in this rolled up state.

In Windows Explorer right click on the filename and select Send to Compressed (zipped) Folder.

Attach the resulting *.zip file here.

 

What is the purpose of the WorkAxis1?  Isn't it an unneeded duplication of the Z axis?

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Member
david.reynolds
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-24-2013
Message 5 of 6 (281 Views)

Re: Problems with 'replace face' command

01-25-2013 11:09 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks for the heads up on the saving issue. Didn't realize moving the EOP would reduce file size when saving.

 

The axis is there just because I was messing around trying other things. It's not needed.

 

Any ideas on the main issue JD?

 

Dave

David
Employee
wilkhui
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Message 6 of 6 (207 Views)

Re: Problems with 'replace face' command

01-28-2013 10:25 AM in reply to: david.reynolds

Hi Dave,

 

You're right, there are some improvements to be made here; I've logged this issue as DID 1491406 for future reference. Thanks for reporting this behaviour!

 

There's a workaround that hopefully isn't too intrusive - if you project cut edges and trim off the little piece of Sketch4 that sticks out of the bottom face of Extrusion1 then you should be getting the behaviour you expect:

 

Part6_iw.png

 

Hope this helps and thanks again!

Indy



Inderjeet Wilkhu
SQA Engineer
Autodesk ShapeManager
Design, Lifecycle and Simulation
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube