Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem Fully Constraining Parts in Assembly

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
mwighton
459 Views, 1 Reply

Problem Fully Constraining Parts in Assembly

I am fairly new to inventor, but learn quickly by online tutorials and playing around myself. I am trying to make a robot chassis in inventor using vex parts. I have a full library of vex parts. I have my basic chassis constrained but for some reason when i use the move command the parts still move, but then snap back into place. should this happen?

Also, after giving up on the moving chassis i tried to move onto bearing flats. Bearing flats consist of 3 holes in a line that match up with the holes in the chassis rails. I constrain the face of the bearing flat to the face of the chassis rail. This constraint works and removes a degree of freedom. However, when i try to remove the other 2 degrees of freedom they dont seem to go away. I use the tangent constraint, constraining the hole of the bearing flat to the hole of the chassis rail(which is square) using an offset to make the hole centered. I constrain in both of my remaining degrees of freedom, but they bearing flat still moves. Whats wrong? Attached is the file i have been working on.

Did this post help out? Hope it did.
If so please use the 'Accept as Solution' or 'Kudos' Button below.
God Bless

Mwighton
1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
JDMather
in reply to: mwighton

An assembly file is simply a list of hyperlinks to part files (*.ipt) and a record of assembly constraints.

You need to attach the ipt files here.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional