Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,197
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 1 of 14 (409 Views)

Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

409 Views, 13 Replies
06-08-2012 09:16 AM

I have a situation where I have my master BOM that is shown on sheet 1 of my drawing that represents everything shown on the drawing.  What I am running into is I have to detail a couple of sub-assemblies as details on the drawing.

What I do is bring in views from that sub assembly seperate from the main assembly, but the problem is those items dont show up in the main BOM.  I end up having to drag in a second BOM that I place off of the drawing sheet as well as adding line items in the main BOM to represent these components in the sub assembly.  Then manually change the items numbers in the second BOM to match the iotem numbers in the main BOM.  What I would like to know is if it is at all possible to link the two BOM's together so I can change the item numbers in the main BOM and it funnels down to the second BOM.

I really hope this makes some sense.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

Valued Mentor
japike
Posts: 322
Registered: ‎02-06-2004
Message 2 of 14 (405 Views)

Re: Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

06-08-2012 09:39 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

BOMs are part of the assembly model and parts lists are used on a drawing to document part or all of the BOM. You can use the BOM to control the item numbers of parts list. Is that what you are after?

Peace,
Jeff
Inventor 2013
*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,471
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 3 of 14 (401 Views)

Re: Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

06-08-2012 09:42 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

I'm not following you. Pictures with a more thorough explanation would help.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,197
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 4 of 14 (396 Views)

Re: Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

06-08-2012 10:04 AM in reply to: japike

Jeff,

I understand that.  I use the term BOM because the software I came from used that term.  I know that Inventor uses both terms in conjunction with each other.

 

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,815
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 5 of 14 (391 Views)

Re: Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

06-08-2012 10:16 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

Hi Cadmanto, 

 

Here is a link that might help. In it Paul outlines a nice strategy for coordinating BOMs:

http://cadsetterout.com/inventor-tutorials/autodesk-inventor-creating-coordinated-bom-for-large-asse...

 

This approach isn't perfect for everyone, but many find it works for well.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com




  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,197
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 6 of 14 (389 Views)

Re: Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

06-08-2012 10:17 AM in reply to: mrattray

I am not really sure that images would help in this case.  Trust me I am a visual guy so I get it!!!  :smileywink:

 

I will try and explain better  My main assembly is assembly "A".  It consists of sub assemblies "B", "C" and "D" as well as a few other separate parts.  On the drawing of assembly "A" I need to show a detail of sub assembly "B" so I bring in a view of "B" and it already shows up in the BOM as assembly "B".  I don't want it to show up as assembly "B" I want it to show "B1", "B2" and "B3"  I edit the BOM for "A" to manually add items "B1-B3".  Because the detail of "B" was brought in separately it will only show balloons representative of the second BOM associated with the detail showing "B".  Now I have to manually edit the second BOM ("B's" ) to match the items manually added to "A's"

What I want to know is if there is a way to link BOM "A" and BOM "B" so when I change the items in BOM "A" it automatically changes BOM "B".

 

I hope this makes sense.

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,471
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 7 of 14 (382 Views)

Re: Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

06-08-2012 10:25 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

OK, I think I get it now.

 

First off, instead of manually editing the parts list why don't you either set the parts list to parts only or the sub to phantom? This would make the parts list show the children of the sub instead of the sub.

 

As far as your baloons go, how about if instead of making a seperate base view for the sub, you make a child view of some sort, a projected or detail view, and turn off the parts and assemblies you don't want shown in that view? Then the baloons will look to the main assemblies BOM for it's data.

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Expert Elite*
Cadmanto
Posts: 3,197
Registered: ‎12-07-2011
Message 8 of 14 (377 Views)

Re: Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

06-08-2012 10:35 AM in reply to: mrattray

Ok, that is making some sense.  As far as the settings in the BOM, that is giving me fits which is an issue for another day.  Currently I cannot even access the the BOM to edit it's "reference", "parts only" or "purchased" setting.  It keeps telling me the assembly needs to be saved when it clearly has been.

 

Anyway, it sounds like you might be talking about LOD's which I totally forgot about.  That is an option.  But with me not able to edit the BOM I am stuck not being able to change it to parts only or reference the sub assembly and make the components active.  Bummer!!!  I am stuck with these cards for now.  :smileysad:

Best Regards,
Scott McFadden
Inventor Professional 2013
(Colossians 3:23-25)

*Expert Elite*
mrattray
Posts: 2,471
Registered: ‎09-13-2011
Message 9 of 14 (369 Views)

Re: Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

06-08-2012 10:49 AM in reply to: Cadmanto

I get that "the assembly needs to be saved" crap once in a while, too. Try doing a save all. That always works for me.

 

No, I'm not talking about LOD's. That could work, but I try to avoid them when I can.  I simply meant toggling the visibility of the parts from within the view.

 

capture.jpg

Mike (not Matt) Rattray

*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 864
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 10 of 14 (367 Views)

Re: Possible to Link BOM's in One Drawing????

06-08-2012 10:56 AM in reply to: mrattray

If you were going to control the visibility from the assembly, View Representations would probably be the better way to go than LOD's.  Attempting to use multiple LOD's in the same drawing tends to result in outbursts of profanity.

John Tyler
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 64 Bit

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube