Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Parameters Automated Drawing

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
MaxOtis
717 Views, 7 Replies

Parameters Automated Drawing

Hello everybody,

First of all, I am new to Inventor, I have been using SolidWorks and Catia in the past, and I have recently join a company who use AutoCAD LT 2012 and Inventor LT 2012 for their drawings. At the moment, there is absolutely no standards for the drawings of the company and my job is to build a standard and automated catalog of the products. Since our product only differ by dimensions, I am trying to make one universal drawing and makes hundreds of drawing with it.

So, I have an Excel sheet with the dimensions of all our products, and I am trying to find a way to automaticaly link the values of each product to the ipt file and make all the dwg files with it. (VBA will probably be needed for it, but I am not sure if it is available with the LT version.)

If possible, we would like to stay with the LT version, but will upgrade if necessary.

Regards,

Max

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Cadmanto
in reply to: MaxOtis

Max,

Welcome to the forum.

I am going to list a few items that you should research and look into and get familiar with before starting down this path.

In Solidworks there was toolbox.  Inventor calls it Content Center.  Look into how to add and configure CC parts.

In Solidworks there were design tables creating configurations.  In Inventor they call them factory and iparts are created from them.  Look into how to create the factory files and set them up.

In Solidworks there were the settings in tools>options.  In Inventor there are application options.