Inventor General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,162
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 1 of 6 (155 Views)

Parameter format not honored

155 Views, 5 Replies
12-17-2012 11:04 AM

I would like to include a user parameter from my model in the idw.  I can place the user parameter in the dimension text.  The parameter is formatted as a fractional dimension in my parameters list, but it does not display that way in the idw.  I dont see any way of changing it either.

 

 

2012-12-17_1302.png

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,943
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 6 (136 Views)

Re: Parameter format not honored

12-17-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: karthur1

If it changed your entered decimal text to a fraction, either stacked or diagonal, then the text editor would be smart enough to correct spelling at the same time.

 

Those settings currently only work with parameters being read into the text box and not for user entered text.

 

It would be nice if it did, maybe in IV2018.....

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
karthur1
Posts: 4,162
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 6 (97 Views)

Re: Parameter format not honored

12-19-2012 12:32 PM in reply to: blair

blair wrote:

...

Those settings currently only work with parameters being read into the text box and not for user entered text.

 

 



NO, they don't currently work with parameters being read into a text box....  I didnt enter any text, this value was read from the model parameters.  Look at the image.  If I had entered the "122.25" text, it would not be highlighted.

 

Currently, the leading zero only works with dimension text.  I know "how" it works, I am just pointing out something that was left "half-baked" when they implemented the leading zero.

 

I would like to see both the decimal and fractional format for the precision as well as a box to include the leading zero.  I have the same issue with formatting columns in an idw parts list.  NO means of including the leading zero here either.

 

*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 3,943
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 6 (92 Views)

Re: Parameter format not honored

12-19-2012 12:41 PM in reply to: karthur1

Sorry, it looked like a text string from the picture and not a parameter.

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up1 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
*Expert Elite*
jtylerbc
Posts: 864
Registered: ‎09-01-2010
Message 5 of 6 (88 Views)

Re: Parameter format not honored

12-19-2012 12:43 PM in reply to: karthur1

Can you Export the parameter, format its Custom Property format to Fractional and the desired precision, then insert the resulting custom iProperty instead?

 

It's an annoying extra step, but I've gotten around things similar to this before by doing that.

 

 

Edit:

 

Wait, nevermind.  I just realized you're doing this in a dimension text.  Pretty sure the method I described doesn't work in that case.

John Tyler
Inventor 2013
Windows 7 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 6 of 6 (85 Views)

Re: Parameter format not honored

12-19-2012 12:45 PM in reply to: jtylerbc

jtylerbc wrote:

Can you Export the parameter, format its Custom Property format to Fractional and the desired precision, then insert the resulting custom iProperty instead?

 

It's an annoying extra step, but I've gotten around things similar to this before by doing that.


Nope.  That was my first thought too, but unfortunately in this case you can't pull in iProperties, only parameters.

 

 


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014, 2015

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / Radeon R9-270X 4GB
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube