Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
methoni
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 1 of 8 (842 Views)
Accepted Solution

PRESSURE LOADS IN AUTOCAD INVENTOR

842 Views, 7 Replies
11-02-2012 04:31 AM

When adding pressure loads to a perpindicular face  inventor states that the pressure is applied uniformly to the selected face.

As an example a disc of 300 mm dia(area= 70685 sq mm) with a uniform pressure load of 10MPa.

The Question is this !

Is the 10MPa load input  construed by inventor as 10MPa per square mm or 10MPa over the entire disc area.

which is the correct interpretation?

 

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,509
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 2 of 8 (832 Views)

Re: PRESSURE LOADS IN AUTOCAD INVENTOR

11-02-2012 05:23 AM in reply to: methoni

10MPa total over the area.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Valued Contributor
methoni
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 3 of 8 (826 Views)

Re: PRESSURE LOADS IN AUTOCAD INVENTOR

11-02-2012 05:40 AM in reply to: JDMather

Thanks for the reply,if that is the case then i will have to rethink the plate thickness,the deflection seems awfully

high.

just for the record the input is as follows.

Plate dia = 488mm

thickness say 12 mm

pressure on plate area 29 psi(0.199 Mpa)

plate constraint on perimeter.

material .mild steel

analysis shows max displacement =0.48

If you wish have a look.

Regards

methoni

*Expert Elite*
JDMather
Posts: 26,509
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 4 of 8 (820 Views)

Re: PRESSURE LOADS IN AUTOCAD INVENTOR

11-02-2012 05:57 AM in reply to: methoni

oops, let me wake up a bit and look at this again.

...back in a while.

 

In any case - it should be really easy to do a couple of virtual experiments to verify.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2015 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
Active Contributor
rhinterhoeller
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-07-2002
Message 5 of 8 (812 Views)

Re: PRESSURE LOADS IN AUTOCAD INVENTOR

11-02-2012 06:54 AM in reply to: methoni

The answer is in your question.  What's a MPa?

A MPa is 1,000,000 N/m² or 1 N/mm²

which is an expression of pressure.

 

IV 2013 Product Design Suite 64 Bit
Win 7 64 bit
Valued Contributor
methoni
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 6 of 8 (808 Views)

Re: PRESSURE LOADS IN AUTOCAD INVENTOR

11-02-2012 07:28 AM in reply to: rhinterhoeller

Thanks for your input.

What started out as a simple problem now seems to be confusing.

So are you saying that if you enter a figure in inventor of say 10MPa,inventor knowing the surface area of plate(from original sketch input calculates the total load over the plate area.

 

The deflection/stress is then derived from this extrapolation.

Does this make sense ?

Active Contributor
rhinterhoeller
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎08-07-2002
Message 7 of 8 (790 Views)

Re: PRESSURE LOADS IN AUTOCAD INVENTOR

11-02-2012 11:30 AM in reply to: methoni

That makes sense.

 

As JD suggested, experiment.  Try some simple exercises for which you can determine the results using classical methods until you're comfortable with the FEA interface.

IV 2013 Product Design Suite 64 Bit
Win 7 64 bit
*Expert Elite*
blair
Posts: 4,021
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 8 of 8 (748 Views)

Re: PRESSURE LOADS IN AUTOCAD INVENTOR

11-03-2012 09:38 AM in reply to: methoni

There is a difference between "Pressure" and a "Force" load in Inventor. A pressure load of 10 psi on a 12" x 12" plate will produce a total "load" of 1440 lb. A "Force" load of 10 lb on a 12" x 12" plate will produce a total "load" of 10 lb.

 

The pressure load will always be acting perpendicular to the surface whereas a force load can be in any direction (vector) to the surface.

 

The area that Inventor will use is dependent of the units used. If you are using Imperial and apply a 10psi, then the load force will be the 10 lb on every square inch.

 

So a Pa is force of one Newton per square Meter and a MPa is 1,000,000 Pa

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below.

IV2015 up2 PDSU / Sim Mech 2015 /
Win7-64
EVGA X79 - Classified, iCore7 3930k 32Gb Quad-Channel
950Gb (2 x 500Gb Sata III SSD RAID0 Adaptec 6805E Controller)
Nvidia GTX-690 Classified - 335.23
SpacePilot Pro 3.17.7, 6.17., 4.11
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.