Inventor General Discussion

Inventor General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
michael.marx
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 1 of 7 (622 Views)

Output step tolerance

622 Views, 6 Replies
10-04-2010 06:49 AM

Is there a way to define the export tolerance of a step file?

Now the tolerance is always set to 0.01mm but i need a tolerance of 0.001 to go further in another CAD/CAM System.

 

mima

*Expert Elite*
harco
Posts: 879
Registered: ‎02-16-2006
Message 2 of 7 (618 Views)

Re: Output step tolerance

10-04-2010 07:41 AM in reply to: michael.marx

Possibly set in document settings> units, set the precision 0.0000.... not sure though.

Give it a try, see if it does what you want.

Valued Contributor
michael.marx
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 7 (611 Views)

Re: Output step tolerance

10-04-2010 08:03 AM in reply to: harco

sorry thats not what i want. This is only the viewing tolerance of dimensions not the geometric tolerance

 

mima

Employee
ToniQin
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 4 of 7 (547 Views)

Re: Output step tolerance

10-14-2010 10:54 AM in reply to: michael.marx

Hi Michael,

Inventor STEP export translator doesn't support customer tolerance. I am sorry that you are not able to control the accuracy for the STEP files.

 

You may have known that with tighter tolerance, your STEP file size would grow bigger. There are some tread off between accuracy and data size.

 

Please contact me at toni.qin@autodesk.com if you would talk about this more. We would be very happy to hear your opinions.

 

Toni Qin

Employee
smadhanraj
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-14-2010
Message 5 of 7 (540 Views)

Re: Output step tolerance

10-14-2010 11:05 AM in reply to: michael.marx

Hi Michael,

0.01mm is the default export tolerance used during STEP/IGES export. We will consider making this export tolerance as an user controlled value in a future release. Feel free to send the file to madhanrajDOTselvarajATautodeskDOTcom (if you can) and we will investigate if there is any issue with 0.01mm fit tolerance.

 

Regards,

Madhan

New Member
Designboltz
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-07-2012
Message 6 of 7 (239 Views)

Re: Output step tolerance

11-07-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: smadhanraj

Is this the only tolerance available?  Even for Parasolid export.

Spoiler
 

 

Employee
ToniQin
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-20-2008
Message 7 of 7 (232 Views)

Re: Output step tolerance

11-07-2012 09:56 AM in reply to: Designboltz

For export to Parasolid, there is no option for tolerance. If you have further questions, please send me email to toni.qin@autodesk.com

Toni Qin

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.