Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to get groovy ...

19 REPLIES 19
Message 1 of 20
Anonymous
598 Views, 19 Replies

Need to get groovy ...

I made an API-spec 10K cross, 7 1/16" x 2 1/16".  I got everything done including the passages and boltholes for the studs.  But I need to cut grooves for the BX ring gaskets.  It is basically a block of steel with two different size holes through the center with bolt circles (and ring gasket groove) at each opening.  I am still a bit of a beginner and I am stumped on this one problem.  If it were AutoCAD I would have cranked out the solid model in about 15 minutes (or less if in a hurry) but I want to learn Inventor.

Thanks,

John Petty

Inventor 2013, Windows 7

19 REPLIES 19
Message 2 of 20
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Any chance you could post a screen shot or the actual part in its current state?

Regards,

Message 3 of 20
JDMather

@Anonymous wrote:

If it were AutoCAD I would have cranked out the solid model in about 15 minutes (or less if in a hurry) but I want to learn Inventor.

You might also take 15 minutes to crank out the AutoCAD model and then someone will show you how to do it in 7.5 minutes in Inventor.  attach your files here

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 4 of 20
graemev

Something like this?

Use the End of Part marker to scroll through the order of construction.  Basically, the groove is made by drawing the groove profile on a plane perpendicular to the face through the bore axis, then performing a revolve cut.

Message 5 of 20
mcgyvr
in reply to: graemev

If only I knew what an API 10k cross was Smiley Sad